Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Technical Reports & Government Information
Government websites come in all flavors and sizes. Some are meant for kids, some are for everyone, and some are highly technical. Many U.S. government websites are freely accessible. They can be good sources of information and may include large, searchable report libraries, such as the ones maintained by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE), and NASA (National Aeronautics and Space Administration).
Allows searches across many U.S. government databases and websites. Content is not limited to technical reports. Often full text of reports is available.
DOE Information Bridge
A resource for full-text and bibliographic records of U. S. Department of Energy (DOE) research reports in physics, chemistry, materials, biology, environmental sciences, energy technologies, engineering, computer and information science, renewable energy, and more. Links to EnergyFiles, the Virtual Library of Energy Science and Technology.
DOE Data Explorer
A unique tool that identifies collections of Department of Energy-sponsored numeric files, figures and data plots, multimedia and images,computer simulations, specialized databases, and interactive data maps. Links to customized interfaces developed by data owners and to software toolkits that allow you to manipulate, compare, visualize, download, and re-use the data. Data is hosted at various program sites. Free.
NEPIS: National Environmental Publications Internet Site
The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) website for online fulltext or hardcopy documents. ranging from from brochures to technical reports. Choose from simple, advanced, or field search. Note: if you are only interested in online fulltext, be sure to choose that, or un-check the "Hardcopy Publications" box.
Produced by the U.S. National Transportation Library, TRIS (Transportation Research Information Services), includes over 650,000 references to books, technical reports, conference and journal articles, and current projects on transportation research, including topics such as pavements and alternative fuels. When looking at an article's record, follow the link under "Availability" to see if the journal or other type of source is at UNH.
Virtual Technical Reports Center
Links to hundreds of university, government, and project websites containing technical reports and other resources.
This is the top-level NASA page. The databases for Astrophysics Data System, NASA Technical Reports, and NACA Technical Reports can be accessed directly from the Library's database list as well.
Writing a report?
If you are looking for info on writing a report or citing sources (creating a bibliography), see the Find Articles tab!