Information Technology (UNH Manchester): COMP 760/860

Library Learning Object: Keyword Selection, Boolean Searching, and Database Searching

Assignment Example:

As we start looking at tools for data modeling, we must define what data mining is and how it is used. The DMBOK states: “Data modeling tools are software to automate many of the tasks that a data modeler performs. Entry-level data modeling tools provide basic drawing functionality including a data modeling pallet so the user can easily create entities and relationships.”

Step 1: Identifying Keywords

Main Concepts:

• Data modeling
• Data mining
• Data modeling tools
• Entities and relationships
• Power BI
• Modeling software

Step 2: Developing Keywords and Synonyms

Core Keywords:

• Data modeling: schema design, database design
• Data mining: information extraction
• Data modeling tools: modeling software
• Entities and relationships: ER diagrams

Step 3: Creating Boolean Search Strings

Use Boolean operators to refine searches:

• AND: Narrows search (e.g., “data modeling” AND “Power BI”)
• OR: Broadens search (e.g., “data modeling tools” OR “modeling software”)
• NOT: Excludes terms (e.g., “data modeling tools” NOT “business modeling”)

Combined Example:
“data modeling” AND (“Power BI” OR “data modeling tools”)

Step 4: Searching Library Databases

Start with the UNH Library search box, which searches all UNH databases simultaneously. For more focused results, search subject-specific databases:

Search Strategy:

1. Begin Broad: Use the UNH Library search box for a wide range of resources.
   Example search: "data modeling" AND "Power BI"
2. Narrow Results: Apply filters (e.g., date range, document type) or switch to specific databases like ACM Digital Library or IEEE Xplore for focused research.
3. Use Boolean Operators: Tailor your search with keywords using AND, OR, or NOT for more relevant results.
4. Evaluate Results: Skim abstracts to gauge relevance and adjust search terms as needed.

Conclusion:

The UNH Library search box provides a comprehensive overview of available resources. For more precise results, utilize individual databases. Combining these tools with effective keywords and Boolean operators will enhance your research efficiency.