Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Computer Science and Engineering Databases
ACM Digital Library
Full text of all Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) journals, newsletters, and conference proceedings. Includes bibliographic information, abstracts, reviews, and the full text for articles along with selected works published by affiliated organizations.
Applied Science and Technology Abstracts
Articles from both trade and professional society journals, in applied science and technology.
A digital library providing full text access to the world's highest quality technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. IEEE Xplore contains full text documents from IEEE journals, transactions, magazines, letters, conference proceedings, standards, and IET (Institution of Engineering and Technology) publications.
Lecture Notes in Computer Science
Searchable full text of selected conference proceedings in the Lecture Notes in Computer Science series (1997-) and the SpringerLink Computer Science Ebook Collection (2005-).
A leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books. Disciplines covered are physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities. ScienceDirect is the platform for Elsevier publications.
Web of Science
Facilitates research-level interdisciplinary search. Use the Basic Search to locate articles in high-impact scholarly journals in science, social science, arts, and humanities. Use the unique Cited Reference search for articles that cite an article you already know of, so you can track citations forward in time.
Types of Articles
Details about types of articles
This grid describes the types of periodical articles--scholarly, popular, and newspaper--that you will find in the online databases.
When searching for articles, know what type of periodical it is. This is because each type has its own purpose, intent, audience, etc.
- Research Journals
What are ACM conference proceedings?
"Conference proceedings capture innovation across the spectrum of computing fields by publishing refereed research findings and invited papers from ACM conferences, workshops and symposia. In the field of computing, conferences constitute a vital channel for publications because they are the venue where cutting edge research is presented and discussed. ACM and its SIGs convene more than 170 conferences, symposia and workshops each year." (from https://dl.acm.org/proceedings)
What are trade magazines?
Trade magazines are publications put out by professional associations. They report on current issues and trends within an industry.
Members of the association receive the publication a benefit of their membership.