Research Guides: Anthropology (UNH Durham): Background Information

Selected Online Sources

CREDO Reference: Anthropology
A selection of reference books including encyclopedias, dictionaries, and more. Search for your term within the individual titles under Anthropology, across all subjects, or within Social Sciences category.
Theory in Social and Cultural Anthropology: An Encyclopedia
Provide a quick overview of a particular theory and theorist with just the basics—the “who, what, where, how, and why”.
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life
3rd ed. "Covers history, politics, customs, religion, education, human rights issues, rites of passage, and much more for 533 diverse cultural groups in Africa, the Americas, Asia and Oceania, and Europe" per publisher.

Encyclopedia of Food and Culture
Call Number: Online and in Dimond Reference GT 2850 .E53 2003
ISBN: 0684805685
3 volumes

Selected Print Sources

The print books are located on Dimond Main Floor (Level 3) and represent just a sampling. For more reference resources, search the library catalog or contact Ask a Librarian.

Folklore: An Encyclopedia of Beliefs, Customs, Tales, Music, and Art
Call Number: Dimond Reference GR 35 .F63 1997
ISBN: 087436986X
2-volume set
Encyclopedia of Body Adornment
Call Number: Dimond Reference GN 419.15 . D46 2007
ISBN: 0313336954
Encyclopedia of Cultural Anthropology
Call Number: Dimond Reference GN 307 .E52 1996
ISBN: 0805028773
Covers approaches, methods, concepts, and topics important in cultural anthropology as well as selected information from linguistics, biological anthropology, and archaeology.
Encyclopedia of Urban Legends
Call Number: Dimond Reference GR 105.34 .B78 2001
ISBN: 157607076X
Publication Date: 2001
Includes descriptions of hundreds of individual legends and their variations, legend themes, and scholarly approaches to the genre. All entries are cross referenced and feature brief bibliographies.