Research Guides: History Resources (UNH Durham): Primary Sources

Note on Locating Primary Sources

By definition primary sources are originals, and although there may be copies, many may only be housed in museums or archives.

One way around this dilemma is to look for primary sources within secondary sources, such as the The Declaration of Independence in a book about the Founding Fathers or a Roman proclamation in a book about the Roman Empire.

Be creative in thinking about what a primary source might be for your particular project and where you might find access to it without having to travel to see the original. Some of the specific databases below contain accessible primary sources, for example. Others might be discovered on the web in digitized form.

Remember to ask your professor whether a primary source from within a secondary source would be appropriate for your assignment.

Selected Primary Source Resources

American State Papers This link opens in a new window
Contains the legislative and executive documents of the first 14 US Congresses (about 6,300 documents). Arranged in ten subject such as Foreign Relations and Military Affairs and with full-text search capability, this is a rich resource in primary source documents on wide-ranging aspects of early American history.
Black Freedom Struggle in the United States This link opens in a new window
Features curated primary-source documents related to critical people and events in African American history. The intention is to support a wide range of students, independent researchers, and anyone interested in learning more about the foundation of ongoing racial injustice in the US and the fights against it.
Making of America (Cornell) This link opens in a new window
As of March, 2018, Cornell University Library's Making of America collection has been moved to Hathi Trust.
Making of America (Michigan) This link opens in a new window
Making of America (MOA) is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. The collection currently contains approximately 8,500 books and 50,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints.
MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for magazines, reference books, and primary source documents. This database also provides an Image Collection containing photos, maps & flags. 1975-present.

Historical Newspapers

African American Newspapers: The 19th Century This link opens in a new window
African American newspapers (also known as the Black press or Black newspapers) are news publications in the United States serving African American communities. Samuel Cornish and John Brown Russwurm started the first African American periodical, Freedom's Journal, in 1827. During the Antebellum South, other African American newspapers sprang up, such as The North Star, founded in 1847 by Frederick Douglass.
America's Historical Newspapers with Early American Newspapers Series 1-19 This link opens in a new window
Chronicles the evolution of American culture and society through eyewitness reporting, editorials, letters, advertisements, obituaries, and more. Funded by The James D. Merritt Memorial Book Fund Dates of coverage: 1690-1922
Boston Globe (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers, and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society, and events of the time. Dates of coverage: 1872-1993
Christian Science Monitor (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers, and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society, and events of the time. Dates of coverage: 1908-2011
Civil War: Part I: A Newspaper Perspective This link opens in a new window
A full-text, full-image collection of newspapers that includes eyewitness accounts and official reports of battles and events from the Civil War, advertisements, news articles and editorials. Dates of coverage: 1860-1865
Early American Newspapers, 1690-1922 This link opens in a new window
See America's Historical Newspapers with Early American Newspapers Series 1-19
Illustrated London News Historical Archive This link opens in a new window
Access the entire run of the world's first fully illustrated weekly newspaper. Each page has been digitally reproduced in full color and every article and caption is full-text searchable with hit-term highlighting and links to corresponding illustrations. Dates of coverage: 1842-2003
Los Angeles Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers, and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society, and events of the time. Dates of coverage: 1881-2000
Times Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Search digital reproductions of articles and pages from The Times (London), including articles, editorials, and advertising. Variety of search options available including keyword, relevance, advanced, and browse by date. Dates of coverage: 1785-1985
Wall Street Journal (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers, and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society, and events of the time. Dates of coverage: 1889-2012
Washington Post (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers, and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society, and events of the time. Dates of coverage: 1877-2008

Other Selected Resources

American History in Video This link opens in a new window
Collection of video available online for the study of American history. It allows students and researchers to analyze historical events, and their presentation over time, through commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries. Dates of coverage: 1600s-current

Primary Sources on the Internet

Archiving Early America
Primary source materials from the 18th Century.
Census of Population and Housing
A U.S. Census Bureau collection containing decennial censuses 1790 - 1860 and 1990 and 2000.
Charters of Freedom
The Declaration of Independence, Constitution of the United States, and Bill of Rights from the National Archives and Records Administration.
Making of America (MOA)
"The Making of America (MOA) is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction."

Digital Public Library of America and World Digital Library

One of the newest, most exciting, and open source discovery platforms is the Digital Public Library of America. It includes almost eight million items form America's libraries, archives, and museums. These include digitized books, photographs, and historical documents from the Smithsonian, the National Archives, major research universities, and digital consortia.

In addition, the Library of Congress, with the support of the United Nations Educational, Cultural and Scientific Organization (UNESCO), and in cooperation with libraries, archives, museums, educational institutions, and international organizations from around the world, is hosting the World Digital Library. To-date, the World Digital Library contains over 10,000 items about nearly 200 countries.