Economic & Other Statistical Data; Poverty - Government Information - Selected Resources by Subject

Economic Data

Economic Indicators (US Census Bureau)
The US Census Bureau Index of Economic Activity (IDEA) is an aggregation of 15 of the Census Bureau’s primary economic data series that provides a single time series constructed as a weighted average.
Economic Research
From the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System

Disclaimer: The economic research that is linked from this page represents the views of the authors and does not indicate concurrence either by other members of the Board's staff or by the Board of Governors. The economic research and their conclusions are often preliminary and are circulated to stimulate discussion and critical comment.

Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research This link opens in a new window
Digital access to historic policy documents and data related to US economic history and financial system, including the history of the Federal Reserve System. Dates of coverage: 1781-current
Federal Reserve Economic Data This link opens in a new window
Download, graph, and track many economic time series from US and international sources.

National Center for Science and Engineering Statistics
A principal statistical agency located within the National Science Foundation (NSF).
Survey of Current Business
Can search by keyword or browse by subject or date.
US Bureau of Economic Analysis
Links to national, international, and regional economic data.
US Bureau of Labor Statistics
Databases, tables, and calculators by subject, including inflation, unemployment, and more.
Prices and Wages by Decade
Points to prices and wages found in primary sources (with a preference for government sources) for each decade back to the 1700s. From the University of Missouri Library's Government Information Department.

Data.gov
Data.gov provides metadata (descriptions) for Federal datasets, information about how to access the datasets, and tools that leverage government datasets. Federal and Executive Branch data are included in the first version of Data.gov.

Historical Statistics of the United States: Millennial Edition This link opens in a new window
The standard source for the quantitative facts of American history. This resource contains a compendium of statistics from sources that include data series -- three times more than in the previous edition -- and dozens of new topics, among them slavery, American Indians, and poverty. Topics ranging from migration and health to crime and the Confederate States of America are each placed in historical context by a recognized expert in the field.
This resource will permit users to graph individual tables and create customized tables and spreadsheets reflecting their own particular areas of interest. Note: To use the custom tables, users must register for an account. To register, click on the register link in the upper right corner of the page and complete the form.

National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)
The primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.
National Center for Health Statistics
The nation's principal health statistics agency.
Statistical Abstract of the United States (1879-2012)
Good starting point for any statistical data; 1879-2012 available. Current is available through UNH subscription database.

Statistical Abstract of the US This link opens in a new window
Is a comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the US. Dates of coverage: 2013-current

USASpending.gov
Provides data on how and where tax dollars are spent including information on various types of contracts, grants, loans, and other types of spending.

Current Poverty Guidelines
The poverty guidelines are a simplified version of the federal poverty thresholds used for administrative purposes — for instance, determining financial eligibility for certain federal programs. They are issued each year in the Federal Register by the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS).

Poverty thresholds are used for calculating all official poverty population statistics — for instance, figures on the number of Americans in poverty each year. They are updated each year by the Census Bureau
Poverty Data (US Census Bureau)
Poverty definition, thresholds & guidance; Poverty in the United States and related publication
Poverty (World Bank)
Collection of reports and data on world poverty.