Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Using the UNH Manchester Library Search Box

What is a Search Scope?

A search scope, or a search profile, is a way for users to search specific types of items in the catalog. For instance, the scope "Articles + Library Catalog" searches (almost) everything the UNH Manchester Library owns or has access to.

Search Scopes

The "Articles + Library Catalog" search scope searches (almost) everything the UNH Library owns or has access to. This includes:

  • Peer-reviewed articles
  • Print books and eBooks
  • Streaming video
  • Newspapers
  • Standards
  • and more!

Use this search scope when you want to see a broad range of resources for your search topic.

The "Available Online" search scope searches all the currently available online electronic resources that you have immediate access to, including:

  • Articles
  • Streaming video
  • eBooks owned by the library that would appear in the "Library Catalog" search profile
  • eBooks only available through databases

This search scope is useful if you need a resource right now. We would rather you didn't procrastinate on your research, but sometimes you need something as soon as possible!

And in our current environment where we encourage the use of electronic materials instead of our physical collection, this search scope keeps all the physical items out of your results.

The "Library Catalog" search scope only searches the physical and electronic items the UNH Library owns. This includes:

  • Print books
  • eBooks
  • Movies (including movies in Kanopy)
  • Music

This does not include:

  • Journal articles
  • eBooks through databases

Use this search scope when you want books about your research topic, or when you do not want or need peer-reviewed journal articles.

The "Articles" search scope searches the databases the UNH Library subscribes to. The types of resources in databases includes:

  • Journal articles
  • Magazine articles
  • Reviews
  • Newspaper articles
  • eBooks
  • Book chapters
  • Dissertations
  • and more!

Use this scope when you want to narrow your search results to articles, or when you don't need or want print books.

The "UNH Manchester Library Search" search scope only searches the physical and electronic items the UNH Manchester Library owns. This includes:

  • Print books
  • eBooks
  • Movies (including movies in Kanopy)
  • Music

This does not include:

  • Journal articles
  • eBooks through databases

Use this search scope when you want books about your research topic, or when you do not want or need peer-reviewed journal articles.