Research Guides: Master in Community Development Policy and Practice (MCD, MACDPP): Statistics

Statistics

Statistics are available from many sources discussed elsewhere in ths guide: government agencies, IOGs, NGOs, charitable organizations, researchers, etc.

Statistical Databases & Resources

Statista: The Statistics Portal This link opens in a new window
Tool for researching quantitative data, statistics and related information.
Statistical Abstract of the US This link opens in a new window
Is a comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the US. Dates of coverage: 2013-current
Statistical Insight This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive access to statistical information from federal agencies, research organizations, international organizations, commercial publishers and associations. Provides abstracts of statistical publications and links to the full-text for selected publications.

Census Quick Facts
Provides statistics for all states and counties, and for cities and towns with a population of 5,000 or more.

World Development Indicators Data Catalog This link opens in a new window
World Development Indicators (WDI) is the primary World Bank database for development data from officially-recognized international sources for more than 180 countries. Other databases provide information on external debt and financial flow data, governance issues, education, health, gender, and more.
Europa World This link opens in a new window
Find statistics on population, the economy, health & welfare, finance (including government expenditures), and education
IMF Data This link opens in a new window
Provides access to International Financial Statistics, Balance of Payment Statistics, Government Finance Statistics, and Direction of Trade Statistics. View and download predefined data reports or create and share your own views of IMF data.

New Hampshire Community Profiles
Information on the 234 incorporated cities and towns in NH. Data presented here comes from a variety of sources, including community response, published reports, and maps.

Statistical and Data Sources from Other Countries

Information on National Statistical Systems
Links to national statistical offices websites are organized by continent, then alphabetical by country. From the UN
International Programs
Selected international statistical programs

Notes

Be aware that types, extent, and dates of data are not always consistent between countries.

Within any individual country, the collection of data and reporting of statistics may change over time, be inconsistent across different parts of the country, or be disrupted by events such as war, natural disaster, or change in leadership.

Consider what government agency, organization, or other group may be collecting data and statistics on a particular topic and then search that institution's website.