Research Guides: RMP 800: Concepts Recreation & Leisure (UNH Durham): Find Articles

Suggested Databases to Start With

RMP is a multidisciplinary field. Using some of the subject-focused databases listed and a variety of the search methods described above will help you be more effective searchers and get results from recognized, reputable academic sources. These databases are frequently useful for topics in this course.

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports in the field of psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. It is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health.
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center : EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
The premier database for education, providing access to more than 1.3 million records and links to more than 323,000 full-text ERIC documents dating back to 1966.
SPORTDiscus This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of sports including physical fitness, physical education, sports medicine, training, coaching, facilities, equipment, history of sport, and recreation. Indexes international periodicals in sports, education, and medicine. Created by the Sport Information Resource Centre (SIRC). Dates of coverage: 1800-current

Additional Databases to Consider

Depending on your specific topic, one of these specialized databases may be helpful. For more online resources, check out the complete Database List.

America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Index to sources on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Includes book and media reviews and citations to abstracts of dissertations as well as journal article citations. Dates of coverage: 1955-current
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive nursing and allied health research database covering nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and more. Dates of coverage: 1937-current
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done at each level to minimize these effects.
Hospitality & Tourism Complete This link opens in a new window
Covers scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. There is full text for many publications, including periodicals, company and country reports, and books. Dates of coverage: 1965-current
This comprehensive database combines the records of three renowned collections: Cornell University's former Hospitality database, Articles in Hospitality and Tourism (AHT), formerly co-produced by the Universities of Surrey and Oxford Brookes, and the Lodging, Restaurant & Tourism Index (LRTI), formerly produced by Purdue University.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources in a wide range of disciplines. Funded in part by the University of New Hampshire Graduate School. Coverage is not designed for current material, thus it does not cover information from the most recent 2 to 5 years.
MEDLINE on EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from thousands of current biomedical journals.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Dates of coverage: 1952-current
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Facilitates research-level interdisciplinary search. Use the Basic Search to locate articles in high-impact scholarly journals in science, social science, arts, and humanities. Use the unique Cited Reference search for articles that cite an article you already know of, so you can track citations forward in time.
Westlaw Campus Research This link opens in a new window
An online legal resource for law-related areas such as criminal justice, social work, business and education. This research tool features legal encyclopedias, court decisions, law reviews and journals, statutes, and more.

Peer Review?

Check:

the database record for the article, which sometimes indicates whether a journal uses peer review
the journal website, especially under About Us or Information for Authors (Example)

Ulrichsweb This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic and access information for thosands of serials. Entries provide ISSN, publisher, language, subject, abstracting & indexing coverage, full-text database coverage, tables of contents, and reviews written by librarians.

Note: Not everything in a journal is peer reviewed; letters to the editor, book reviews, news items, and other short works without listed references are typically not peer reviewed the way more substantive articles are.

Getting Articles

Click on the Check for UNH Full Text icon in the database record to see how to get a copy of the article: whether online, in print or from another library.

This 2-minute video provides a brief demonstration.

If the UNH Library doesn't have the article you want, request it through Interlibrary Loan.

RMP 800: Concepts Recreation & Leisure (UNH Durham)

Searching Tips

For More Help

Suggested Databases to Start With

Additional Databases to Consider

Peer Review?

Getting Articles