Research Guides: RMP 800: Concepts Recreation & Leisure (UNH Durham): Other Information Sources

Government Information

Federal and state governments are very good sources of credible information on programs, policies, statistics, etc. Some examples:

CRS (Congressional Research Service) Reports, 1965-2018 This link opens in a new window
Public policy briefs issued by the Congressional Research Service to inform members of Congress and their staff on subjects of current interest. Funded by taxpayer money and thus all in the public domain, these reports are nonpartisan and concise.
Note: The information on this site is compiled and made available as a public service by the Government Documents Department at the University of North Texas Libraries. UNT does not make any warranty as to the accuracy, reliability, or completeness of the information and is not responsible for any errors or omissions or for results obtained from the use of the information. Distribution of the information does not constitute such a warranty. Use of the information is the sole responsibility of the user.
Congressional Publications This link opens in a new window
Provides comprehensive indexing for US legislative information, with much full text from mid-1990s. Added in 2017 is full text for Congressional hearings (1824-1979), committee prints and Congressional Research Service reports (1830-2003), and unpublished hearings (House: 1973-1982; Senate: 1985-1992). UNH subscription. Dates of coverage: 1789-current

American FactFinder
Source for population, housing, economic, and geographic data (US Census)
US Census Bureau
A leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy.
National Park Service Visitor Use Statistics
Also provides links to reports.
US Department of Health & Human Services
For information on programs & services, grants & contracts, and laws & regulations.
CDC- National Center for Health Statistics
US Department of Education
National Center For Education Statistics
Primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.
US Department of Justice

Organizations

Many professional organizations produce reports, surveys, statistics, etc. that may be helpful as well as serving as one source of identifying individuals with expertise in specialized areas. Some examples:

Dissertations & Theses

Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive collection of full-text dissertations and theses. Official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and considered the database of record for graduate research. Note: Full text for certain publications is subject to market availability. Dates of coverage: 1861-current
Dissertations & Theses @ UNH This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the citations and abstracts of dissertations and theses graduate students have published through ProQuest Dissertation Publishing. In addition to citations and abstracts, the service provides free access to 24 page previews and the full text in PDF format, when available. In most cases, this will be graduate works published in 1997 forward.