Research Guides: Sociology (UNH Durham): Articles

List of Sociology Databases at UNH

Sociology Databases
List of discipline-focused databases for finding journal articles, reports, and other resources.

Suggested Databases to Start With

These databases serve as excellent starting points to get results from recognized, reputable academic sources:

Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Dates of coverage: 1952-current

Sociological Abstracts Search Strategies
Downloadable slide presentation created by ProQuest to quickly demonstrate features for searching and working with results.

SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Is a sociology research database providing full-text, peer-reviewed sociology journals. Itcovers many studies including gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, racial studies, religion, and social work. Dates of coverage: 1908-current
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Collection of peer-reviewed, full-text journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos touching on all disciplines.

Additional Databases to Consider

Depending on your specific topic, one or more of these specialized databases may be helpful. For more online resources, check out the complete Database List.

Criminal Justice Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals from all areas of criminology and criminal justice and from around the world. Dates of coverage: 1968-current
Family Studies Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles on marriage, divorce, family therapy, and other areas from the most important journals in the discipline.
HAPI (Hispanic American Periodicals Index) Online This link opens in a new window
Source for authoritative, worldwide information about Central and South America, Mexico, Brazil, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States. From analyses of current political, economic, and social issues to unique coverage of Latin American arts and letters, HAPI Online contains complete bibliographic citations to articles, book reviews (through 2001), documents, original literary works, and other materials appearing in key social science and humanities journals published throughout the world. Dates of coverage: 1970-current
LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
Contains all of the content available in LGBT Life with Full Text as well as full text for the most important and historically significant LGBTQ+ journals, magazines regional newspapers, as well as monographs and books. It includes comprehensive indexing and abstract coverage as well as a specialized LGBTQ+ thesaurus containing thousands of terms.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports in the field of psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. It is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health.
Urban Studies Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic records and abstracts covering essential areas related to urban studies, including urban affairs, community development, urban history, and other areas, selected from the most important sources within the discipline. Dates of coverage: 1973-current
Violence & Abuse Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes books and journals covering essential areas related to violence and abuse, including family violence, sexual assault, emotional abuse, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. Dates of coverage: 1995-current
Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
Over 2,000 periodical sources are represented
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Facilitates research-level interdisciplinary search. Use the Basic Search to locate articles in high-impact scholarly journals in science, social science, arts, and humanities. Use the unique Cited Reference search for articles that cite an article you already know of, so you can track citations forward in time.

The UNH Library search box provides one-stop searching for books and e-books; articles in newspapers, journals, and magazines; and video and audio

This can be useful if you want

multidisciplinary coverage specifically
initial exploration
additional resources by being comprehensive for articles outside of your primary discipline

You can limit results to peer reviewed journals and by publication date, An advanced search with additional options is available:

Keyword searching across citations, abstracts and full text of articles (even if the full text isn't available to you).

Advantages:

identify relevant articles, especially if your search is pretty specific.
useful for exploratory purposes or when you're "covering all the bases"

Disadvantages:

hard to organize or sort in useful ways
unable to search by subject or limit by anything other than time

Enhance efficiency by adjusting these Google Scholar settings so that

Library Links shows library access links to UNH (so you have quicker access to full text that UNH is subscribing to)

Connect to

Google Scholar

Sociology (UNH Durham)

For More Help

Social Sciences, Public Policy & Government Information Librarian

Librarian

List of Sociology Databases at UNH

Suggested Databases to Start With

Additional Databases to Consider

Additional Search Options