Skip to Main Content

History Resources (UNH Durham)

Welcome

Welcome to the HIST 511 - History of New Hampshire research guide. The resources in this guide will be useful for your assignments.

As you might imagine, information about the history of New Hampshire can be found in a variety of places: the free web, the UNH Library, Special Collections & Archives, and in local historical societies and public libraries all over the state. The UNH Library may not have the best material for very local topics: check the town library and historical society in the location you're interested in.

Much material may be held by the New Hampshire State Library in Concord, as well. Stay flexible when thinking about what material will work for your projects.

If you are having trouble identifying or finding information to use for your projects, please talk with your professor and TAs or make an appointment with a librarian for help.

Selected Source Formats and Locations

Note that the Library has dozens of town-specific histories in the stacks. Use the Library Catalog to search by keyword.

These selected texts, available through the Library, are just a selection of the variety of books and resources that might be useful. Again, search the Library Catalog with keywords to find more.

Special Collections & Archives is a department located on Level 1 of Dimond Library which maintains approximately 18,000 linear feet of rare books, manuscripts, University records, photographs, sound recordings, and other materials.

While libraries collect material that is published, and thus widely available, special collections and archives collects materials that are often not published and rare. As such special rules are in place for viewing and using the collections.

Special Collections & Archives has a rich series of Digital Collections that you can access from home. Search here first to see what is available.

Special Collections & Archives also has a wide variety of text and object collections that may be of interest to scholars and researchers. Search all of their collections here: Search UNH Special Collections & Archives.

Working with the NHamp Collection and the wider print collections requires an appointment. Schedule an appointment here:

Appointment Scheduler