HIST 797 - Witchcraft - History Resources (UNH Durham)

Welcome

Welcome to the HIST 498 research guide. The resources below will be useful for your assignments.

Library Search Box

Books and Media Worldwide

Selected Book Sources

Wicca: history, belief, and community in modern pagan witchcraft by Ethan Doyle White
ISBN: 1782842551
Publication Date: 2015-12-01
The past century has born witness to a growing interest in the belief systems of ancient Europe, with an array of contemporary Pagan groups claiming to revive these old ways for the needs of the modern world. By far the largest and best known of these Paganisms has been Wicca, a new religious movement that can now count hundreds of thousands of adherents worldwide.
Brethren by Nature: New England Indians, colonists, and the origins of American slavery by Margaret Ellen Newell
ISBN: 9780801456480
Publication Date: 2015-11-25
In Brethren by Nature, Margaret Ellen Newell reveals a little-known aspect of American history: English colonists in New England enslaved thousands of Indians. Massachusetts became the first English colony to legalize slavery in 1641, and the colonists' desire for slaves shaped the major New England Indian wars, including the Pequot War of 1637, King Philip's War of 1675-76, and the northeastern Wabanaki conflicts of 1676-1749.
Damned women : sinners and witches in Puritan New England by Elizabeth Reis
Call Number: Dimond - Level 4 HQ1438.N35 R45 1997
ISBN: 9781501713347
Publication Date: 1999-01-18
In her analysis of the cultural construction of gender in early America, Reis explains that womanhood and evil were inextricably linked in the minds and hearts of seventeenth-century New England Puritans. Women and men feared hell equally but Puritan culture encouraged women to believe it was their vile natures that would take them there rather than the particular sins they might have committed.
Detestable and Wicked Arts by Paul B. Moyer
Call Number: E-book
ISBN: 9781501751059
Publication Date: 2020-10-15
In Detestable and Wicked Arts, Paul B. Moyer places early New England's battle against black magic in a transatlantic perspective. Moyer provides an accessible and comprehensive examination of witch prosecutions in the Puritan colonies that discusses how their English inhabitants understood the crime of witchcraft, why some people ran a greater risk of being accused of occult misdeeds, and how gender intersected with witch-hunting.
Entertaining Satan by John Putnam Demos
Call Number: Dimond - Level 5 BF1576 .D42 2004
ISBN: 0195174844
Publication Date: 2004-10-14
John Putnam Demos presents an entirely new perspective on American witchcraft. By investigating the surviving historical documents of over a hundred actual witchcraft cases, he vividly recreates the world of New England during the witchcraft trials and brought to light fascinating information on the role of witchcraft in early American culture.
Escaping Salem by Richard Godbeer
ISBN: 0198036523
Publication Date: 2005-01-01
Escaping Salem reconstructs the "other witch hunt" of 1692 that took place in Stamford, Connecticut.
In the Devil's Snare by Mary Beth Norton
Call Number: Dimond - Level 5 BF1575 .N67 2002
ISBN: 037540709X
Publication Date: 2002-09-10
Describing the situation from a seventeenth-century perspective, Norton examines the crucial turning points, the accusers, the confessors, the judges, and the accused, among whom were thirty-eight men.
Satan and Salem by Benjamin C. Ray
Call Number: Dimond - Level 5 BF1575 .R28 2015
ISBN: 0813937086
Publication Date: 2015-05-29
In Satan and Salem, Benjamin Ray looks beyond single-factor interpretations to offer a far more nuanced view of why the Salem witch-hunt spiraled out of control. Rather than assigning blame to a single perpetrator, Ray assembles portraits of several major characters, each of whom had complex motives for accusing his or her neighbors. In this way, he reveals how religious, social, political, and legal factors all played a role in the drama.
Witch-Hunting in Seventeenth-Century New England by David D. Hall
Call Number: Dimond - Circulation Desk 4-hr Reserve BF1575 .W62 1999
ISBN: 1555534163
Publication Date: 1999-09-23
This superb documentary collection illuminates the history of witchcraft and witch-hunting in seventeenth-century New England. The cases examined begin in 1638, extend to the Salem outbreak in 1692, and document for the first time the extensive Stamford-Fairfield, Connecticut, witch-hunt of 1692-1693. Here one encounters witch-hunts through the eyes of those who participated in them -- the accusers, the victims, the judges.

Selected E-Resources

American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 1 This link opens in a new window
Represents over two centuries of print culture from early colonial imports to titles published on American soil during the Revolution and early republic. Dates of coverage: 1691-1820
Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans This link opens in a new window
Based on the renowned American Bibliography by Charles Evans. The definitive resource for every aspect of life in 17th- and 18th-century America, from agriculture and auctions through foreign affairs, diplomacy, literature, music, religion, the Revolutionary War, temperance, witchcraft, and just about any other topic imaginable. Includes Early American Imprints, Series I: Supplement from the Library Company of Philadelphia, 1670-1800; Early American Imprints, Series I: Supplement from the American Antiquarian Society, 1652-1800. Funded by The College of Liberal Arts, the Center for the Humanities, the University of New Hampshire Library. Dates of coverage: 1639-1800

Selected Newspaper Resources

America's Historical Newspapers with Early American Newspapers Series 1-19 This link opens in a new window
Chronicles the evolution of American culture and society through eyewitness reporting, editorials, letters, advertisements, obituaries, and more. Funded by The James D. Merritt Memorial Book Fund Dates of coverage: 1690-1922
Caribbean Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Featuring newspapers from many islands. Most are published in the English language; some also in Spanish, French, and Danish. Useful for research on colonial history, the Atlantic slave trade, international commerce, New World slavery and related topics. Dates of coverage: 1718-1876