Research Guides: Open Educational Resources: Health Sciences

Health Sciences

Disclaimer

The resources presented here are intended to provide access to a wide range of health and disease information and should not be construed as medical advice or be used as a substitute for consultation with a health care professional.

Health Sciences

On this page you will find open access Health Sciences textbooks along with supplemental materials. The purpose of these subject specific pages is to highlight content for those who are interested in what open educational resources are available. This list of content is by no means exhaustive. The nature of open educational resources is very collaborative and we encourage comments about the content featured on this page, or recommendations of content that are not found here.

Health Sciences Textbooks

College Open Textbooks
A collection of textbooks on topics of health and nursing.
InTech
An open collection of medical textbooks covering a wide variety of topics.
Merck Manual - Professional Version
Find information on medical topics, symptoms, drugs, procedures, news and more, written for the health care professional.
NCBI Bookshelf
The National Library of Medicine / National Center for Biotechnology Information provides free online access to books and documents in life science and healthcare.
OpenStax - Anatomy and Physiology
Anatomy and Physiology is a dynamic textbook for the two-semester human anatomy and physiology course for life science and allied health majors. The book is organized by body system and covers standard scope and sequence requirements.
OpenStax - Microbiology
Microbiology covers the scope and sequence requirements for a single-semester microbiology course for non-majors. The book presents the core concepts of microbiology with a focus on applications for careers in allied health.

Health Sciences Resources

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
A major US federal agency that works to help people and communities protect their health – through health promotion, prevention of disease, injury and disability, and preparedness for new health threats
HealthFinder
From the U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services, a gateway to selected consumer health information provided by U.S. government agencies, state and local government agencies, not-for-profit organizations, and universities.
Mayo Clinic
Health information from the Mayo Clinic.
MedlinePlus
Authoritative information from the National Library of Medicine, the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other government agencies and health-related organizations.
more...less...
Pre-formulated MEDLINE searches are included in MedlinePlus and give easy access to medical journal articles. MedlinePlus also has extensive information about drugs, an illustrated medical encyclopedia, interactive patient tutorials, and latest health news.
National Institutes of Health - Health Information
Publications and fact sheets, ClinicalTrials.gov, health hotlines, A-Z topic index, MEDLINEplus, other resources. Offers most frequently requested consumer health publications produced by the NIH.
PublicHealth.org
A collection of resources on topics of nutrition such as diabetes, heart disease, obesity, cancer, and mental illness.
PubMed Health
PubMed Health specializes in reviews of clinical effectiveness research, with easy-to-read summaries for consumers as well as full technical reports. Clinical effectiveness research finds answers to the question “What works?” in medical and health care.
Science.gov
Gateway to government science information and research results.
World Education - Health Literacy Special Collection
Includes resources that are easy to read, multilingual, and for the trainer and researcher, including a new health literacy tutorial for the health literacy practitioner.

Health Sciences Image Resources

Bassett Collection of Stereoscopic Images of Human Anatomy
Photographs and diagrams of human anatomy. Provided by the Lane Medical Library, Stanford School of Medicine.
CDC - Public Health Image Library
Much of the information critical to the communication of public health messages is pictorial rather than text-based. Created by a Working Group at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), the PHIL offers an organized, universal electronic gateway to CDC's pictures.
National Library of Medicine
Online repository of biomedical resources including books, still images, videos, and maps.
NIH - Image and Video Gallery
From the National Institute of General Medical Sciences, a searchable collection of scientific photos, illustrations and videos.
Open-i
Open access biomedical image search engine made available by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
The Visible Human Projects- NLM
The creation of complete, anatomically detailed, three-dimensional representations of the normal male and female human bodies.

Data & Statistics

Data & Statistics - Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Data and statistics provided by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). It is a public domain Web site, which means you may link to CDC.gov at no cost and without specific permission.
Health - Data.gov
Explore datasets, tools, and applications related to health and health care. These resources come from across the Federal Government with the goal of improving the health and lives of all Americans.
Partners - Health Data Tools & Statistics
Partners in Information Access for the Public Health Workforce is a collaboration of U.S. government agencies, public health organizations, and health sciences libraries which provides timely, convenient access to selected public health resources on the Internet.
Global Health Observatory Data - World Health Organization
WHO's gateway to health-related statistics for more than 1000 indicators for its 194 member states.

Open Access Health Sciences Journals

BioMed Central
An evolving portfolio of some 300 peer-reviewed journals, sharing discoveries from research communities in science, technology, engineering and medicine.
Health Policy
A vehicle for the exploration and discussion of health policy and health system issues and is aimed in particular at enhancing communication between health policy and system researchers, legislators, decision-makers and professionals concerned with developing, implementing, and analysing health policy, health systems and health care reforms, primarily in high-income countries outside the U.S.A.
Journal of Nutrition & Intermediary Metabolism
Publishes original research articles and reviews relating to advances in nutritional sciences and mechanisms by which nutrition interventions influence clinical outcomes, with a focus on research describing how nutrients or nutritional supplements modulate metabolic pathways in the body.
Journal of Social Sciences
Each issue is thematic in nature and focuses on a specific research question or area of interest. The introduction to each issue will include an accessible, broad, and synthetic overview of the research question under consideration and the current thinking from the various social sciences.
Nature - Nutrition & Diabetes
Publishes clinical, metabolic, genetic and epidemiological studies that describe methodologies, mechanisms, and associations in relation to diabetes and nutrition-related diseases.
NFS Journal
Publishes high-quality original research articles and methods papers presenting cutting-edge scientific advances as well as review articles on current topics in all areas of nutrition and food science.
Occupational Therapy International
Topics that are appropriate for this journal include reliability and validity of clinical instruments, assistive technology, community rehabilitation, cultural comparisons, health promotion and wellness, surveys of treatment practices, historical reviews and meta-analyses that demonstrate treatment efficacy.
Open Journal of Occupational Therapy
Publishes high quality articles that focus on applied research, practice, and education in the occupational therapy profession.
PubMed Central
A free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature. PMC is provided by the U.S. National Institutes of Health and the National Library of Medicine.