Research Guides: Open Educational Resources: Agriculture

Agriculture

On this page you will find open access Agriculture textbooks along with supplemental materials. The purpose of these subject specific pages is to highlight content for those who are interested in what open educational resources are available. This list of content is by no means exhaustive. The nature of open educational resources is very collaborative and we encourage comments about the content featured on this page, or recommendations of content that are not found here.

Agriculture Textbooks

Food Industrial Processes - Methods and Equipment - A collection of articles on issues relating to the food industry, selected for use as a primer, an investigation guide and documentation based on modern, and as scientific and technical references.
T opics in Conservation Biology - The chapters of this book provide insightful analysis on managing protected areas (Middle East), conserving biochemical and genetic diversity of carob tree (Tunisia) and wild pear (Japan), determining the health status of Amazon manatee, manipulating sex ratios to benefit wildlife, and narrowing the gap between religion and conservation.
Aquaculture - This book provides an understanding on a large variety of aquaculture related topics.

Agriculture Collections

Animal Science
Open access books on Agricultural and Biological Sciences; Biochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology; Veterinary Medicine and Science; and more...
Biochemistry, Molecular and Cellular Biology
A collection of books on Biochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology; Drug Discovery; and Nanotechnology and Nanomaterials.
Environmental Science
Books on Environmental Engineering; Chemical Engineering; Geology and Geophysics; and more...
InTech - Top 100 Cited - Agriculture Textbooks
Citations from Web of Science™ Core Collection publications

Open Access Agriculture Journals

Academic Journals - Agriculture
A collection agricultural science journals from a broad-based publisher of peer-reviewed open access journals.
Agriculture
An international and cross-disciplinary scholarly and scientific open access journal on the science of cultivating the soil, growing, harvesting crops, and raising livestock.
Journal of Food Processing and Technology
Articles focussing on the traditional core subjects of Innovations in Food Processing Technics, Food Fortification, Food Safety, Food Nanotechnology, and Nutritional Values.
Open Access Journals - Agri & Aquaculture
Agricultural and aqua-cultural research encompasses the study and application of basic concepts and technological inventions in the field of agronomy, plant breeding, application of pesticides, fertilizers and other agrochemicals, fish farming, algaculture, aquaponics, commercial fishing and mariculture. The contemporary research practices in the field of agriculture and aquaculture specifically highlights selective breeding, animal welfare, isolation and clinical applications of in vivo generated antibiotics and growth hormones and genetically modified food items.
The Open Agriculture Journal
A peer-reviewed journal, and an important and reliable source of current information on developments in the field. The emphasis is on publishing quality papers rapidly and freely available to researchers worldwide.

Agriculture Resources

Ag Data Commons
The data repository of the National Agricultural Library, Ag Data Commons provides access to a wide variety of open data relevant to agricultural research.
Economic Research Service
Provides data and publications related to U.S. food and agricultural production and trade.
Food & Nutrition Service
Provides information, tools, and resources related to U.S. supplemental and child nutrition programs, and more...
Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations
Provides access to global food and agriculture data from 1961 onward through FAOSTAT. Provides access to FAO publications dealing with a wide range of global food and ag issues.
Foreign Agricultural Service
Provides data and reports related to U.S. agricultural international trade and foreign agriculture trends.
Global Biodiversity Information Facility
Provides access data about all types of life on Earth (covering 1.6 million species) through a searchable web interface.
Long-Term Agroecosystem Research Data
The National Agricultural Library's source for agroecosystem research data collected at agricultural research sites around the U.S.
National Agricultural Statistics Service
Provides price and production data from the U.S. Census of Agriculture and annual U.S. producer surveys through their Quick Stats portal. Publishes a variety of reports related to U.S. agriculture.
National Oceanic & Atmospheric Administration
Provides access to current, and historical, climate and weather data from the National Climatic Data Center.
National Park Service
Includes information, photos and multimedia on climate change, environmental quality, and water resources.
Natural Agricultural Library
The catalog of the National Agriculture Library, indexing books, articles, patents, and reports.
Natural Resources Conservation Service
Provides information and tools related to conservation of land and resources.
U.S. Fish & Wildlife Services
Hosts a Conservation Library that includes curriculum-related materials, conservation texts, and electronic resources.
U.S. Geological Survey
Provides maps, aerial photographs and satellite imagery, and publications.

Scientific Research Publishing (SCIRP)

Scientific Research Publishing (SCIRP)
Publisher of more than 200 open access, online, peer-reviewed journals covering a wide range of academic disciplines serving the worldwide academic communities and contributing to the progress and application of science.