Research Guides: Open Educational Resources: Open Media

Open Media Projects

Image licenced by opensourceway

Digital libraries and other digital media collections contain a wide variety of content that is available for educational use - the examples posted here are a small sample of what is available. Many of these projects are maintained by academic libraries and not-for-profit institutions, and others are made available by commercial content providers. Reuse rights may vary - check for Creative Commons licenses or other rights statements before re-posting online content. The fair use provisions of copyright apply even if content is posted with use restrictions.

Digital Libraries

University of New Hampshire Library Digital Collections
UNH Digital Collections contains digital versions of books, letters, photographs, and other items from the collections of the University of New Hampshire Library. The focus of Digital Collections is the history of New Hampshire, its people, places, events, governance, and industries, including the history of UNH.
Making of America
"Making of America (MoA) is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction."
Digital Public Library of America
"The Digital Public Library of America brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world. It strives to contain the full breadth of human expression, from the written word, to works of art and culture, to records of America’s heritage, to the efforts and data of science."
Harvard University Library: Open Collections Program
"OCP's unique online collections do not duplicate individual collections of books or manuscripts. Instead, OCP offers new, virtual collections of thematically linked material selected from numerous Harvard repositories. Each collection is easily searchable on the web."

Perseus Digital Library This link opens in a new window
"Since planning began in 1985, the Perseus Digital Library Project has explored what happens when libraries move online. Two decades later, as new forms of publication emerge and millions of books become digital, this question is more pressing than ever. Perseus is a practical experiment in which we explore possibilities and challenges of digital collections in a networked world."

HathiTrust Digital Library
"HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world."
American Memory from the Library of Congress
"American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity."
National Science Foundation : Multimedia Gallery

Digital Text

DOAB: Directory of Open Access Books
"The primary aim of DOAB is to increase discoverability of Open Access books. Academic publishers are invited to provide metadata of their Open Access books to DOAB. Metadata will be harvestable in order to maximize dissemination, visibility and impact."
Project Gutenberg
"Project Gutenberg offers over 46,000 free ebooks: choose among free epub books, free kindle books, download them or read them online."
The University of Oxford Text Archive
"The University of Oxford Text Archive develops, collects, catalogues and preserves electronic literary and linguistic resources for use in Higher Education, in research, teaching and learning."
Avalon Project
"The Avalon Project will mount digital documents relevant to the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government."
Open Library
"Open Library is an open, editable library catalog, building towards a web page for every book ever published."

Scholarly Open Access

FInd more on Open Access at the Scholarly Communication and Open Access research guide.

University of New Hampshire Scholars' Repository
The UNH Scholars’ Repository is a central location for collecting and promoting scholarship and creative work by UNH faculty, students, staff, institutes, and programs.
Directory of Open Access Journals
DOAJ is an independent database that contains over 16,500 peer-reviewed open access journals covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts and humanities.
OpenDOAR - Directory of Open Access Repositories
OpenDOAR is an authoritative directory of academic open access repositories. Each OpenDOAR repository has been visited by project staff to check the information that is recorded here.

Video

Internet Archive : Moving Image Archive
Over 1.5 million digitized videos and clips, including cartoons, commercials and classic films, many public domain or available via Creative Commons license.
The Open Video Project
The SDG Academy Library
Educational materials on sustainable development.
TedED
TED-Ed is TED’s youth and education initiative. TED-Ed’s mission is to spark and celebrate the ideas of teachers and students around the world.

Images

Flickr: Creative Commons
A collection of images published on Flickr using a Creative Commons license.
NYPL Digital Gallery
Open access to over 800,000 digital images from the new York Public Library's collections.
U.S. Government Photos and Images
A vast collection of photos and images from the U.S. Government, many of which are in the public domain and free to use.
Shared Shelf Commons
An open-access database of image collections shared by institutional users of Shared Shelf.
Wellcome Images
Providing access to the visual collections of the Wellcome Library, which documents "2000 years of human culture" with a focus on biomedical imagery. Most images are open access, with others available for paid licensing.
Artstor: Images for Academic Publishing
Free images for use in academic publishing, provided by museum collections.
Getty: Open Content Images
Search over 10,000 images from Getty Museum and Research Institute collections made available for download.
Wikimedia Commons
"A database of freely usable media files to which anyone can contribute"

Simulations

PhET
PhET provides fun, free, interactive, research-based science and mathematics simulations