Articles - Ocean Mapping (UNH - Durham)

Recommended Key Databases

Search these indexes for journal, book reviews, conference proceedings, government reports, dissertations, etc. For most searches use the Advanced Search option.

GeoRef This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the geoscience literature of the world. Contains references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, theses and dissertations, conference papers, and reports, including all publications of the US Geological Survey. Dates of coverage: 1693-current
Oceanic Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Focuses on worldwide technical literature pertaining to the marine and brackish-water environment including marine biology and physical oceanography, fisheries, aquaculture, non-living resources, meteorology and geology, plus environmental, technological, and legislative topics. Dates of coverage: 1981-current
Aquatic Sciences & Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA) 2: Ocean Technology, Policy, & Non-Living Resources This link opens in a new window
This subset of the Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts database concentrates on non-biologic scientific topics, such as physical oceanography and limnology, marine meteorology and climatology, geochemistry, marine geology and geophysics. In addition, it covers various types of marine technology used in both research and commerce. Finally, it deals with marine law and policy and with economics and commerce.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Facilitates research-level interdisciplinary search. Use the Basic Search to locate articles in high-impact scholarly journals in science, social science, arts, and humanities. Use the unique Cited Reference search for articles that cite an article you already know of, so you can track citations forward in time.

Additional Databases to Consider

Depending on your topic, consider some of these specialized databases. For more online resources to help with your research, check out the complete Database List.

Science Direct
Offers journal articles and book chapters in the disciplines of physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities.
Applied Science & Technology Abstracts
Articles from both trade and professional society journals, in applied science and technology; including aeronautics; applied, optical, and neural computing; applied mathematics; artificial intelligence; atmospheric sciences; construction; energy resources; food science; information technology; marine and space technology, robotics, and several engineering areas, including automotive, biomedical, chemical, civil, electrical, environmental, industrial, and mechanical.

GeoScienceWorld This link opens in a new window
A collection of peer-reviewed articles and other materials from high-impact journals in a broad range of geoscience areas, including publications of major professional societies such as the Geological Society of America, American Association of Petroleum Geologists, Mineralogical Society of America, and Geological Society of London.

Engineering Village
Web search interface for engineering information, including searches of Ei Compendex; engineering handbooks (not linked to data; use citation to look up reference at Library); the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office web site; and TechStreet standards (not linked to full-text). Offers specialized options, including saved queries and biweekly e-mail alerts for Ei Compendex.
IEEE Xplore
A digital library providing full text access to the world's highest quality technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. IEEE Xplore contains full text documents from IEEE journals, transactions, magazines, letters, conference proceedings, standards, and IET (Institution of Engineering and Technology) publications.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources in a wide range of disciplines. Funded in part by the University of New Hampshire Graduate School. Coverage is not designed for current material, thus it does not cover information from the most recent 2 to 5 years.

Using a Thesaurus

When you are not sure what terms to use in a given database, you may want to consult a thesaurus if one is available. Both GeoRef and Oceanic Abstracts have thesaurii. Look for the link under the Search Tools tab.

The same topics can be called slightly different things by the indexers of different databases. Once you have identified likely terms in the thesaurus, you can use them either as keywords or as descriptors in the advanced search fields.