Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Art and Art History (UNH Durham)

ARTstor

The ARTstor Digital Library offers more than one million images in the arts, architecture, and humanities. The ARTstor collection is comprised of contributions from museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists.

ARTstor is also the repository for the Visual Resources Center's (VRC) collection of scanned or photographed art images.  This collection includes high quality art and architecture images, that have been curated by the Visual Resources Librarian and the Art and Art History Department faculty for use in UNH courses.

Along with providing high resolution images, ARTstor also offers many search, browse, and sort features as well as options for presenting, downloading, referencing and sharing images.  Go here for more information about these features.  Some of these features require an ARTstor account, check out the video below for information on how to register or go here.

 

This searchable database of digital images and associated catalog data, covers many time periods and cultures, and documents the fields of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, anthropology, ethnographic and women's studies, as well as many other forms of visual culture. 

You can search ARTstor by the name of an art work, by geography, by classification (for example, architecture), or by collection (for example, Beyond the Taj).  Use the Advanced Search to limit by date.

ARTstor is an excellent place to find images for your presentation, paper, or just for inspiration. Create a personal account and create an image group.  Then view information on how to Export to Power Point. Helpful videos on using ARTstor can also be found on YouTube.

ARTstor Registration Help Video

More help videos can be found at the ARTstor Youtube channel.

UNH Art Image Databases

The world's leading source of art images, representing museums, galleries, and artists throughout the world by providing a central source of fine art for image users.

An online encyclopedia of art "from prehistory to the present day."

Videos

The UNH Durham Library has a good collection of art and architecture films on DVD in the Multimedia Center on Level 2. You can search the online catalog to locate films. Ask a librarian if you need assistance.

The following websites are also great sources for streaming video clips:

More Images