Architecture (UNH Durham)

African-American architects have been designing and building houses and public buildings since 1865. Although many of these structures survive today, the architects themselves are virtually unknown. This unique reference work brings their lives and work to light for the first time.

This comparative history of American architecture, social spaces, and engineered environments—organized by style, and then by chronology—is for the general reader.

This volume in the Society of Architectural Historians' Buildings of the United States series analyzes the architecture, landscape, and planning patterns of the capital of Massachusetts and forty surrounding cities and towns that fan out from Boston Harbor. Extensively illustrated with photographs and maps, and supplemented with a glossary and bibliography, the book assesses built form from initial colonial settlement in the 1630s through twenty-first-century additions to the Boston area landscape.

Ranging in coverage from humble cottages to grand villas, this encyclopaedia was compiled by the Scottish landscape gardener John Claudius Loudon (1783–1843). Its ambition, as stated in the introduction, was 'to improve the dwellings of the great mass of society'. Hundreds of types of rural abode are delineated here by Loudon and his contributors, and the text is greatly enhanced by more than 2,000 illustrations.

Focusing on architecture from all regions of the world, this three-volume set profiles the twentieth century's vast chronicle of architectural achievements, both within and well beyond the theoretical confines of modernism. This encyclopedia examines the complexities of rapidly changing global conditions that have dispersed modern architectural types, movements, styles, and building practices across traditional geographic and cultural boundaries.

Encyclopedia of Architectural and Engineering Feats presents more than 200 achievements in architecture and structural engineering in all the inhabited continents, from prehistory to the present.

Edited by Shoemaker (Kansas State Univ.), former director of the School of the Chicago Botanic Garden, this encyclopedia contains over 500 entries on individuals (architects, designers, plant collectors, patrons, and writers), places (countries, regions of the world, and specific gardens), and topics (garden elements, periods, and styles). It is international in scope but admittedly Eurocentric.

Vernacular - or traditional - architecture encompasses most of the buildings of the world. This encyclopedia is the first to show the remarkable diversity of the buildings constructed and lived in by the people of over a thousand cultures. The first of the three volumes focuses on the theories, principles and philosophy that underpin traditional architecture. Volumes 2 and 3 consider these principles within specific cultural and societal contexts. As building traditions vary widely within some countries and extend across the political boundaries of others, the encyclopedia considers vernacular architecture within its cultural rather than its national contexts. Richly illustrated with photographs, line drawings and maps, the work is also supported by a glossary, a lexicon, and the largest bibliography on the subject ever published. This work will be an inspiration and resource for architects, anthropologists, folklorists and geographers, and important for all who help shape housing and conservation policies.

Beginning with the homes of the first European settlers to the North American colonies, and concluding with the latest trends in construction and design of houses and apartments in the United States, Homes through American History is a four-volume set intended for a general audience. From tenements to McMansions, from wattle-and-daub construction in early New England to sustainable materials for green housing, these books provide a rich historical tour through housing in the United States.

Available online, the International Dictionary of Architecture covers the history of architecture from ancient Greece to the present. Also available in print: Dimond Reference NA 40 .I48 1993.

The Phaidon Atlas of Contemporary World Architecture presents a comprehensive global survey of the most outstanding works of contemporary architecture from around the world to be completed in the last five years (to 2004). Organized geographically and illustrated with global, regional and sub-regional maps locating each individual building, this monumental tome illustrates more than 1,000 completed buildings and includes some of the most influential projects worldwide as well as many lesser-known buildings. Sections on World Data, Building Data and Architect's Biographies paint a detailed picture of the influences on contemporary architecture today.

Scorched Earth is the first book to chronicle the effects of chemical warfare on the Vietnamese people and their environment, where, even today, more than 3 million people—including 500,000 children—are sick and dying from birth defects, cancer, and other illnesses that can be directly traced to Agent Orange/dioxin exposure. Weaving first-person accounts with original research, Vietnam War scholar Fred A. Wilcox examines long-term consequences for future generations, laying bare the ongoing monumental tragedy in Vietnam, and calls for the United States government to finally admit its role in chemical warfare in Vietnam. Wilcox also warns readers that unless we stop poisoning our air, food, and water supplies, the cancer epidemic in the United States and other countries will only worsen, and he urgently demands the chemical manufacturers of Agent Orange to compensate the victims of their greed and to stop using the Earth’s rivers, lakes, and oceans as toxic waste dumps. Vietnam has chosen August 10—the day that the US began spraying Agent Orange on Vietnam—as Agent Orange Day, to commemorate all its citizens who were affected by the deadly chemical. Scorched Earth will be released upon the third anniversary of this day, in honor of all those whose families have suffered, and continue to suffer, from this tragedy.