Research Guides: Architecture (UNH Durham): Websites

Using Online Images

Evaluating Websites
More on Using Images

Remember to evaluate any website you use in your paper very carefully. The attached resource can help you think critically about websites.

Criteria:

Accuracy
Authority
Objectivity
Currency
Coverage

Details about evaluation criteria
Here are some questions to ask yourself about articles you locate while doing research.

Many images you find on the web or in print may be protected by copyright and your use of them may be restricted.

Boston University Libraries has a useful guide on Image Copyright.

Art and Architecture Sites on the Web

Acropolis Museum
Art Institute of Chicago
British Museum
Classical Art Research Center
Cleveland Museum of Art
Cooper Hewitt National Design Museum
Eastman Museum
Freer + Sackler Galleries
The Getty Research Institute
The Guggenheim
Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History - The Metopolitan Museum of Art
A chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of the history of art from around the world, as illustrated by the Museum's collection. It is authored by The Met’s experts, and comprises 300 chronologies and close to 1,000 essays and more than 7,000 works of art.
LACMA
Metropolitan Museum of Art
MOMA, Museum of Modern Art
Musée du Louvre
Musée Rodin
Museum of Fine Arts, Boston
National Gallery of Art
National Museum of African Art
Philadelphia Museum of Art
Prado
Smithsonian American Art Museum
Tate Online
Tokyo National Museum
The Uffitzi
Vatican Museum
Victoria and Albert Museum
The Warburg Institute

Architecture and Landscape (Library of Congress American Memory Project)
Among the nine collections are "Architecture and Interior Design for 20th Century America" and "American Landscape and Architectural Design 1850-1920."
ArchNet
An international online community for architects, planners, urban designers, landscape architects, conservationsists, and scholars, with a focus on Muslim cultures and civilizations.
Art Images for College Teaching
AICT is intended primarily to disseminate images of art and architectural works in the public domain on a free-access, free-use basis to all levels of the educational community, as well as to the public at large.
ArtSource
A list of online art resources compiled by an art librarian.
Cities and Buildings Database
Nearly 10,000 "images of buildings and cities drawn from across time and throughout the world, available to students, researchers and educators on the web"
Classic 6: New York City Apartment Building Living, 1880s - 1910s
From the New York Public LIbrary Digital Gallery, this is a collection of "[m]ore than 1,300 digital images depict elevation views and floor plans for middle and upper class apartment buildings from New York City's pre-World War I residential building boom."
Digital Archive of American Architecture
Nearly 1,500 digitized images of American architecture (280 buildings) plus explanatory material, constructed by Jeffery Howe of Boston College
Digital Imaging Project
"Art historical images of sculpture and architecture from pre-historic to post-modern."
Great Buildings
Information on famous buildings and architects, as well as photographs, architectural drawings, timelines, 3D building models, commentaries, bibliographies, links, etc.
Mother of All Arts and Art History Links
From Michigan School of Art and Design.
The Pritzker Architecture Prize
"To honor a living architect whose built work demonstrates a combination of those qualities of talent, vision, and commitment, which has produced consistent and significant contributions to humanity and the built environment through the art of architecture"
Real?Virtual: Representing Architectural Time and Space
For selected time periods, read an introduction and view 360-degree panoramic images, interactive plans, and focus on featured projects.
Spiro Architectural Slide Library
Search the collection of the Architecture Visual Resources Library (AVRL) at the University of California at Berkeley: over 250,000 slides and 20,000 photographs.
Structurae
"This site offers you information on works of structural engineering, architecture or construction through time, history and from around the world."
VADS: The Visual Arts Data Service
A portfolio of visual art collections comprising over 140,000 images that are freely available and copyright cleared for use in learning, teaching and research in the UK.
Voice of the Shuttle: Architecture
A mega-site with links to architecture resources from around the Web, including online journals, academic departments, sites & projects, and sites specific to particular architects.

Also look for official websites for

particular buildings or structures (ex. Guggenheim Museum building)
sites (ex. Smithsonian - a number of the museums were built in the 20th century)
museums (ex. Chicago Athenaeum Museum of Architecture and Design)
cultural preservation organizations (ex. National Trust for Historic Preservation)