Research Guides: Research with Indigenous Communities: Data Sovereignty

Data Sovereignty & Governance

Indigenous data sovereignty is the right of Indigenous Peoples to govern data that is collected by, from, or about them.

Page contents:

Resource Highlight

The CARE Principles for Indigenous Data Governance are people and purpose-oriented, reflecting the crucial role of data in advancing Indigenous innovation and self-determination. These principles complement the existing FAIR principles (www.go-fair.org) encouraging open and other data movements to consider both people and purpose in their advocacy and pursuits.

Indigenous-led Initiatives & Resources

The First Nations Principles of Ownership, Control, Access, and Possession (OCAP)
This resource describes the control over the management and use of data through the principles of ownership, control, access, and possession (OCAP). OCAP is maintained by the First Nations Information Governance Centre, a Canadian non-profit organization that works to promote culturally-relevant data collection and statistical information to represent and empower First Nations governments.
Global Indigenous Data Alliance (GIDA)
“The aim of the Global Indigenous Data Alliance is to progress International Indigenous Data Sovereignty and Indigenous Data Governance in order to advance Indigenous control of Indigenous Data.”
Maiam nayri Wingara Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Data Sovereignty Collective
This data sovereignty network is led by a group of Indigenous researchers who aim to collaboratively develop Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander data sovereignty principles, identify strategic data assets, and advocate for data sovereignty rights of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders. The Network provides links to resources on Indigenous data sovereignty and data governance.
Te Mana Raraunga, Māori Data Sovereignty Network
The Network advocates nationally and internationally for Māori Data Sovereignty and provides links to resources, policy briefs, and related events on Indigenous data sovereignty and data governance. The Network has published the Principles of Māori Data Sovereignty, an overview of terms and principles, and the Māori Data Audit Tool, a set of questions for assessing the capacity of an organization in addressing the principles of the Network’s Charter.

General Resources

Indigenous Governance Database
The Indigenous Governance Database (IGD) was developed in 2012 by the Native Nations Institute at the University of Arizona. The database contains educational and informational resources on tribal governance and reform, including resources on Indigenous data sovereignty. Users can create a free account for creating a personal collection of resources which includes functions for collaboration.
Research Data Alliance (RDA) Indigenous Data Sovereignty (ID-Sov)
The Research Data Alliance (RDA) is an international community-driven group that brings together experts to work toward social and technical infrastructure around data sharing and reuse. One of the main objectives noted in the International Indigenous Data Sovereignty Interest Group’s charter is to co-create an international Indigenous data governance framework. Membership is open to any member of RDA (membership is free).
Toolbox of Research Principles in an Aboriginal Context: Ethics, Respect, Fairness, Reciprocity, Collaboration and Culture
This toolkit was developed by the First Nations of Quebec and Labrador Health and Social Services Commission. Its audience ranges from Indigenous Peoples, researchers, and policy makers, and it covers ethical issues related to protecting intellectual and cultural property and data rights. The toolkit is international in scope, providing links to existing protocols and initiatives related to memorandum of understanding (MOUs), guidelines for conducting ethical research, and open data.