Research Guides: Music Resources (UNH Durham): NH Library of Traditional Jazz -- Print Materials

Milne Special Collections and Archives

Milne Special Collections and Archives is located on Level 1 of Dimond Library (Room 101). Reference for and physical access to most materials is available in the department's Dunleavy Reading Room, which is both wireless and handicapped accessible. Reference assistance, research consultation, instruction, and tours can be scheduled by appointment.

For web-based guides and contact information, see the following:

Special Collections focuses on rare books, manuscripts, recordings, and artifacts. Prospective researchers, visitors, and donors may contact Special Collections staff.

The University Archives houses UNH records of permanent administrative, legal, fiscal, and historical value. You may direct questions regarding research, donations, records transfer, or file maintenance to Archives staff.

The University Museum features rotating exhibitions which explore and illustrate the history of University or reflect topics and/or collections of community interests. Most of its permanent collections are housed off-site. However, anyone wishing to see or donate UNH-related memorabilia should contact the University Archivist.

New Hampshire Library of Traditional Jazz

The New Hampshire Library of Traditional Jazz (NHLTJ) is located in the Milne Special Collections and Archives at the University of New Hampshire. It was founded in 1978 by the late jazz aficionado Dorothy Prescott for the purpose of fostering the preservation and appreciation of traditional jazz as an American art form. The archive holds:

More than 25,000 jazz recordings including 78s, LPs, CDs and acetates
More than 1000 jazz-related books and videos
Thousands of jazz periodicals dating back to the 1930s
Memorabilia documenting the Boston jazz scene of the 1940s and 1950s
Hundreds of photographs documenting the Traditional Jazz Series

The Dorothy Prescott Room within Special Collections houses the NHLTJ archive of books. The Special Collections also holds manuscript collections of interest to jazz researchers including the papers of Dorothy Prescott and the papers of jazz reed player Bob Wilber.

You can search for books in the NHLTJ by including a keyword search for the phrase "New Hampshire Library of Traditional Jazz," or by clicking here to browse a list of the titles in the collection.