Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Linking to E-resources @ UNH: Creating Persistent Links

Instructions for creating persistent links to e-journal articles, e-book chapters, and other online content.

Guide Contents

APA

Cambridge

CREDOReference

Directory of Open Access Journals

Ebook Central

EBSCOhost (Academic Search Ultimate, CINAHL, EconLit, ERIC, PsycINFO,  etc.)

EBSCOhost ebook collection

EEBO (Early English Books)

Freely Accessible

Gale

HeinOnline

HighWire Press 

JSTOR

Literature Online (LION)

Oxford

Project Muse

ProQuest

Safari Books Online

SAGE

Science Direct

Single Journals

SpringerLink

Taylor & Francis

Very Short Introductions

Wiley (aka Wiley-Blackwell)

Link to the UNH Library Catalog

The easiest way to share a link to a library resource is to use the Permalink available for the record in the UNH Library Catalog. Accessing the resource will require a few extra clicks, but the catalog page may provide multiple ways of accessing the items and access options will always be current. 

What is a Persistent Link/URL?

Call it a persistent link, permalink, stable URL, durable link, or a PURL - What's in a name? that which we call this web address By any other name would be as everlasting as the unchangeable sea.

The URL in the browser window while you are in a full-text database may be valid only during that session. The links that the database providers label as persistent are set up to work even if the files get moved to a different server.

Even so, you should re-check the links you create periodically since the Library's subscriptions may change or content may change to another provider.

Why use a Persistent Link?

Why use a persistent link rather than scanning or downloading the document and uploading into Canvas or other server? Copyright, licensing agreements, accessibility, discoverability, use statistics...

If you link directly to an article online, you are not taking on the copyright liability of downloading it; also many of the library's licensing agreements prohibit the uploading of content elsewhere.

Database providers offer value-added resources. They often offer the article both in HTML and PDF, and are made to be accessible. EBSCOhost articles, for example, offer text to speech option for their HTML full-text articles, and their PDFs are ADA compliant.

Databases also often provide links to related articles, metrics, and other perks which can be helpful for the curious student.

Another important reason to link directly to an article is the statistics sent to library staff. Little-used resources are at a higher risk of being cancelled. Linking directly to the resource means that the library receives accurate reporting of the use.

Creating a link in mycourses/Canvas

IT has created a Knowledge Base article on the best way to set up reserve readings in mycourses/Canvas. It is available at: https://td.unh.edu/TDClient/KB/ArticleDet?ID=860

 

If you are having problems using mycourses/Canvas, call the IT Help Desk at 862-4242.

Why use mycourses/Canvas?

A mycourses page is set up for every course taught at UNH whether you add content or not. Student expectation of the use of mycourses and online content is very high. It allows access to content despite the weather, the hour, or the distance from campus.

Accessing online content via mycourses is an important component in copyright compliance; the authentication process guarantees that only students enrolled in the class are able to view the material.

Troubleshooting connection problems

What works well in one browser sometimes fails completely in another. For example, if you’re using Microsoft Edge, try Firefox, Safari, or Chrome. Sometimes security settings may prevent connecting.

Try the UNH VPN

Especially if you are off-campus, using the UNH VPN (which will make your computer act like it would if it was on campus) may solve the problem. The library's Technical Support page has instructions and links for using the UNH VPN; you will want to use the All Traffic configuration. This page (https://www.library.unh.edu/services/technical-support) also links to a form to report an access problem.