Research Guides: Open Educational Resources: English

English

On this page you will find open access English textbooks along with supplemental materials. The purpose of these subject specific pages is to highlight content for those who are interested in what open educational resources are available. This list of content is by no means exhaustive. The nature of open educational resources is very collaborative and we encourage comments about the content featured on this page, or recommendations of content that are not found here.

English Textbooks

Rhetoric and Composition - designed for use as a textbook in first-year college composition programs, written as a practical guide for students struggling to bring their writing up to the level expected of them by their professors and instructors.
The Hound of the Baskervilles - the third novel written by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle that features the brilliant Sherlock Holmes and John Watson.
The Importance of Being Earnest - Oscar Wilde's most brilliant tour de force, celebrated not only for the lighthearted ingenuity of its plot, but for its inspired dialogue, rich with epigrams still savored by all who enjoy artful conversation.

English Textbook Collections

BCcampus OpenEd
A collection of textbooks on topics such as professional communication, and literature.
College Open Textbooks
A collection of textbooks on English and composition.
Early English Books Online
Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.
LibriVox
LibriVox volunteers record chapters of books in the public domain, and then releases the audio files back onto the net for free.
Lumen
Co-founded by open-education visionary Dr. David Wiley and education-technology strategist Kim Thanos, Lumen Learning is dedicated to facilitating broad, successful adoption of OER.
Project Gutenberg
Offers over 54,000 free eBooks: epub books, and kindle books. You will find the world's great literature here, especially older works for which copyright has expired.

English Resources

American Rhetoric
A collection of speeches that includes audio and transcripts, maintained by Michael E. Eidenmuller - Professor of Communications at the University of Texas at Tyler.
MERLOT - English Literature
A collection of textbooks, courses, tutorials, and presentations about the study of english literature.
MERLOT - English Writing
A collection of textbooks, courses, tutorials, and presentations about the study of english
MIT Open Courseware - Literature
Designed to serve students majoring, minoring, and concentrating in Literature as well as those students who may get to take only one or two Literature subjects while at the Institute, the Literature curriculum at MIT offers a wide range of undergraduate classes at Introductory, Intermediate, and Advanced levels.
The Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL)
Offers over 200 free resources including: Writing and Teaching Writing, Research, Grammar and Mechanics, Style Guides, ESL (English as a Second Language), Job Search, and Professional Writing.
Saylor.org - English Writing
A collection of courses in writing, and literature.
TED.com - Literature
A collection of TED Talks (and more) on the topic of literature.
Writing Commons
A free, comprehensive, peer-reviewed, Open Text (website) for students and faculty in college-level courses that require writing and research.

Open Access English Journals

Communications in Information Literacy
A peer-reviewed journal devoted to advancing research, theory, and practice in the area of information literacy in higher education.
Comparative Literature and Culture
A peer-reviewed, full-text, and open-access quarterly in the humanities and social sciences. Publishes new scholarship following tenets of the discipline of comparative literature and the field of cultural studies designated as "comparative
cultural studies."
First Monday
One of the first openly accessible, peer–reviewed journals on the Internet, solely devoted to the Internet.
International Journal of Communication
An interdisciplinary journal that, while centered in communication, is open and welcoming to contributions from the many disciplines and approaches that meet at the crossroads that is communication study.
International Journal of English and Literature
A peer reviewed open access journal published monthly and covers all areas of English and Literature.
Journal of Community Informatics
The study and the practice of enabling communities with Information and Communications Technologies (ICTs). CI seeks to work with communities towards the effective use of ICTs to improve their processes, achieve their objectives, overcome the "digital divides" that exist both within and between communities, and empower communities and citizens in the range of areas of ICT application including for health, cultural production, civic management, and e-governance, among others.
Journal of Media and Communication Studies
A peer reviewed open access journal published monthly and covers all areas of the subject.
Media and Communication
An international open access journal dedicated to a wide variety of basic and applied research in communication and its related fields. It aims at providing a research forum on the social and cultural relevance of media and communication processes.
Neo-Victorian Studies
A peer-reviewed, inter-disciplinary eJournal dedicated to the exploration of the contemporary fascination with re-imagining the nineteenth century and its varied literary, artistic, socio-political and historical contexts in both British and international frameworks.