Chemistry (UNH-Durham)

Note: Access is for current UNH students, faculty, and staff only.

A comprehensive discovery tool for chemical information. Indexes the literature of pure and applied chemistry and broadly related areas; searchable by text, such as author and research topic; plus chemical identifiers, structures, and reactions. Sources covered include journals, conference proceedings, patents, books, technical reports, and dissertations. Access also to CAS Analytical Methods and CAS formulas.. Register for a SciFinder account

Full text searching and access to current and legacy publications: titles, volumes, issues, and articles. Legacy content enables researchers to understand historical discoveries that led to modern chemistry and influenced such fields as biology, physics, medicine, agriculture, and engineering. Dates of coverage: 1800s-current

For chemistry, nanoscience, and related fields. Reaxys is based on the combined content of CrossFire Beilstein and Gmelin, and the Patent Chemistry Database (PCD). Reaxys contains experimental reaction and substance data extracted from the major organic, inorganic and organometallic chemistry literature, plus linked literature references. Allows researchers to identify and combine selected reaction steps to generate synthesis strategies. Substance searching includes (sub-)structure, generic and R-group searching, molecular formula, name, etc. Indexes multi-step reactions. Provides indexing and links to U.S. and European chemical and life science patents.

WebCSD is the online web portal to the Cambridge Structural Database, the world repository of small-molecule crystal structures.

Facilitates research-level interdisciplinary search. Use the Basic Search to locate articles in high-impact scholarly journals in science, social science, arts, and humanities. Use the unique Cited Reference search for articles that cite an article you already know of, so you can track citations forward in time.

Note: Access is for current UNH students, faculty, and staff only.

The industry-standard software for chemical structure drawing that allows you to create stereochemically-correct structures from chemical names. Our site license permits UNH users to install ChemDraw software on personal computers. Please refer to the Quick Start Guide to learn how to register and activate.

Chemical compound information, research data, trends, journals, and researchers. It offers full graphical summaries, important reaction diagrams, and complete bibliographic information. Dates of coverage: 1993-current

A college-level encyclopedia of science and technology. Includes a science dictionary, an "In the News" section, and several features for undergraduate students: basic tables, study guides, and brief scientific biographies. Mac Users: Use Safari with this database. There have been access problems with Internet Explorer.

Offers comprehensive, timely collections of critical review articles written by leading scientists. Annual Reviews volumes are published each year for a variety of focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Physical, and Social Sciences. Dates of coverage: 2001-current

Articles from both trade and professional society journals, in applied science and technology; including aeronautics; applied, optical, and neural computing; applied mathematics; artificial intelligence; atmospheric sciences; construction; energy resources; food science; information technology; marine and space technology, robotics, and several engineering areas, including automotive, biomedical, chemical, civil, electrical, environmental, industrial, and mechanical. 1983-current

ASBC disseminates scientific brewing knowledge, improves and expands methods of measurement, identifies and rapidly responds to industry technical concerns, and develops scientists for the brewing industry. 14th edition, continuously updated

Enhances the discovery and analysis capabilities of Web of Science by incorporating comprehensive book citation data in the sciences. Dates of coverage: 2005-current

This citation index covers conference literature in all scientific and technical fields, including: Agriculture, Biochemistry, Biology, Biotechnology, Chemistry, Computer Science, Engineering, Environmental Sciences, Medicine, and Physics. Dates of coverage: 1990-current

This citation index covers conference literature in all scientific and technical fields, including: Agriculture, Biochemistry, Biology, Biotechnology, Chemistry, Computer Science, Engineering, Environmental Sciences, Medicine, and Physics. Dates of coverage: 1990-current

Is text- and substructure-searchable, and offers full graphical summaries, important reaction diagrams, and complete bibliographic information from organic chemistry journals. Dates of coverage: 1985-current

Access an array of data across subjects and regions, providing a comprehensive picture of research output to understand data in context and maximize research efforts. Dates of coverage: 1900-current

Value-added patent information from Derwent World Patent Index as well as patent citation information from Patents Citation Index. Dates of coverage: 1963/1966-current

A comprehensive resource on the science of the oceans. Includes contribution on the physical processes that drive the oceans as well as on ocean technology, law of the oceans, global programs, marine policy, the use of the oceans for food and energy, and the impact of pollution and climate changes. 3rd edition, 2001

Provides contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. Drawing students in with captivating subject matter, Science showcases how scientific disciplines relate to real-world issues ranging from bacteria to obesity and weather.

A digital library providing full text access to the world's highest quality technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. It contains full text documents from IEEE journals, transactions, magazines, letters, conference proceedings, standards, and IET (Institution of Engineering and Technology) Conferences. UNH no longer has access to IET Journals.

Offers data on physical, thermodynamic, mechanical, and other key properties and is a major reference source used by those involved in chemistry, physics, and engineering. Many tables have been "knovelized" to be interactive. The full text of the original print version is available in PDF format (full-text searchable), including the original index. All entries in the index are hyperlinked to their page numbers. 1st electronic edition, 2003

Software and more for learning chemistry. It covers a broad spectrum of the chemistry curriculum, from high school to postgraduate.

See Journal of Visualized Experiments: JoVE

Is a video library dedicated to teaching scientific fundamentals through easy-to-understand video demonstrations.

Provides users with access to chemical and physical property data for chemical substances. Data provided are from collections maintained by the U.S. National Institutes of Standards and Technology (NIST) Standard Reference Data Program and outside contributors. Search by substance or property.

Offers journal articles and book chapters in the disciplines of physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities.

An integrated spectral database system for organic compounds, which includes 6 different types of spectra under a directory of the compounds.

Indexes biomedical literature that covers toxic effects of drugs and other chemicals. Dates of coverage: 1999-current