Research Guides: Chemistry (UNH-Durham) : Property, Spectra, Element Data

Spectra Resources

Spectral Database for Organic Compounds (SDBS) This link opens in a new window
An integrated spectral database system for organic compounds, which includes 6 different types of spectra under a directory of the compounds.
NIST Chemistry WebBook This link opens in a new window
This site provides thermochemical, thermophysical, and ion energetics data compiled by NIST under the Standard Reference Data Program. Also includes spectra data.

NMRShift DB
NMRShiftDB is a NMR database (web database) for organic structures and their nuclear magnetic resonance (nmr) spectra. It allows for spectrum prediction (13C, 1H and other nuclei) as well as for searching spectra, structures and other properties. (From the NMRShiftDB website).

Periodic Tables

A good selection of interactive Periodic Tables on the Web are listed below. A PDF copy of the Table can be found in the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics - current edition is linked below.

WebElements Periodic Table
This interactive periodic table contains information on all the elements including essential data, history, chemical reactions, physical properties, uses, pictures and more.
CRC Periodic Table Online
Values from CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics, 100th Edition.
Standard atomic weights are from Wieser, M. E., et al., Pure Appl. Chem. 85, 1047, 2013 plus changes made through 2018 by the International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry (IUPAC) Commission on Isotopic Abundances and Atomic Weights.
The Photographic Periodic Table of the Elements
Fun and interactive Periodic Table with data and pictures provided by Mathematica's ElementData function from Wolfram Research, Inc.
CRC Handbook Of Chemistry and Physics--current edition--
Hard copy edition-- Newest edition on Reserve; Previous edition found in Reference.
Online Periodic Table from RSC
Royal Society of Chemistry's online periodic table link

Property Data Resources

The Chemistry Library has an excellent selection of both print and online resources to research chemical structure, physical & chemical property data, and reaction information on compounds.

Print Resources

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics. Chemistry Library (Reserves and Reference area). QD65 .H3 (Latest edition = 100th, 2020-2021)

Merck Index. Chemistry Library (Reserves and Reference area), RS51 .M4 2006. (Latest edition = 15th, 2013)

Lange's Handbook of Chemistry. Chemistry Library Reserves, TP151 .H25. (Latest edition = 16th, 2005. "70th Anniversary Edition")

Dean's Handbook of Organic Chemistry. Chemistry Library Reference. QD251.3 .G65 2004. (Latest edition = 2nd, 2004).

Online Resources

Cameo Chemicals
An Online database of hazardous material information from the National Oceanic and Atmosheric Administration (NOAA). Contains data sheets on hazardous substances transported, used and stored in the U.S.
ChemBioFinder
ChemBioFinder is a free database service which provides chemical structures, physical properties, and hyperlinks to additional information on compounds.
Note: Registration Required
more...less...
Also known as : ChemFinder
ChemIDplus
ChemIDplus is a free, web-based search system that provides numerous chemical synonyms, structures, regulatory list information, and links to other databases containing information about chemical substances cited in National Library of Medicine (NLM) databases. The database contains over 368,000 chemical records, of which over 238,000 include chemical structures.
ChemSpider
ChemSpider is a free chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 34.5 million structures from hundreds of data sources
IUPAC Gold Book
The IUPAC Compendium of Chemical Technology (The Gold Book) is the definitive guide to chemical terminology; it now contains more than 7000 entries.

NIST Chemistry WebBook This link opens in a new window
This site provides thermochemical, thermophysical, and ion energetics data compiled by the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST).

Organic Syntheses
This service describes checked and edited experimental procedures, for a broad range of synthetic methodologies, that illustrate important new developments in methodology. Also includes safety warnings and reaction info.
PubChem
Offered through the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), PubChem provides information on the biological activities of small molecules. Also includes property and chemical structure information.

Reaxys This link opens in a new window
For chemistry, nanoscience, and related fields. Reaxys is based on the combined content of CrossFire Beilstein and Gmelin, and the Patent Chemistry Database (PCD). Reaxys contains experimental reaction and substance data extracted from the major organic, inorganic and organometallic chemistry literature, plus linked literature references. Allows researchers to identify and combine selected reaction steps to generate synthesis strategies. Substance searching includes (sub-)structure, generic and R-group searching, molecular formula, name, etc. Indexes multi-step reactions. Provides indexing and links to U.S. and European chemical and life science patents.
SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
Note: Access is for current UNH students, faculty, and staff only.

A comprehensive discovery tool for chemical information. Indexes the literature of pure and applied chemistry and broadly related areas; searchable by text, such as author and research topic; plus chemical identifiers, structures, and reactions. Sources covered include journals, conference proceedings, patents, books, technical reports, and dissertations. Access also to CAS Analytical Methods and CAS formulas.. Register for a SciFinder account

MilliporeSigma
Search Sigma-Aldrich's product catalog website for physical property data on many chemicals. Also includes spectra and MSDS information.

ThermoLit This link opens in a new window
US Secretary of Commerce on behalf of the United States of America
Provided by NIST (National Institute of Standards and Technology).

Chemistry (UNH-Durham)

Engineering & Physical Sciences Librarian

Ask A Librarian

Research Tools

Spectra Resources

Periodic Tables

Property Data Resources