Research Guides: Chemistry (UNH-Durham) : Reference Sources

Science Online Reference

AccessScience This link opens in a new window
A college-level encyclopedia of science and technology. Includes a science dictionary, an "In the News" section, and several features for undergraduate students: basic tables, study guides, and brief scientific biographies. Mac Users: Use Safari with this database. There have been access problems with Internet Explorer.

Gale Ebooks Science
Offers coverage of virtually every academic, scholarly, and professional discipline and provides access to databases and ebooks for all kinds of research.

O'Reilly This link opens in a new window
Formerly Safari Tech Books Online, is an online learning platform providing access thousands of technical books online. Content emphasizes computer programming, software and apps (including mobile apps) including business aspects.

Compendium of Chemical Technology
The definitive guide to chemical terminology (from IUPAC) contains over 7000 terms dealing with all aspects of chemical technology.
IUPAC Gold Book
The IUPAC Compendium of Chemical Technology (The Gold Book) is the definitive guide to chemical terminology; it now contains more than 7000 entries.
IUPAC Purple Book
Compendium of Polymer Terminology and Nomenclature (Purple book).

The second edition of the IUPAC Compendium of Polymer Terminology and Nomenclature (IUPAC Recommendations 2008) is an expansion and revision of the 1991 edition and contains 22 chapters. (Information from the website of the International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry website (www.iupac.org/)
Properties of Organic Compounds
Properties of Organic Compounds is a database that contains over 29,000 of the most commonly sought organic compounds, featuring physical data, spectral data, and structures.

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
In print, Chemistry Library has two most recent editions.
All Campus Libraries. QD65 .H3.
IUPAC Gold Book
The IUPAC Compendium of Chemical Technology (The Gold Book) is the definitive guide to chemical terminology; it now contains more than 7000 entries.
IUPAC Purple Book (online)
Compendium of Polymer Terminology and Nomenclature (Purple book).

The second edition of the IUPAC Compendium of Polymer Terminology and Nomenclature (IUPAC Recommendations 2008) is an expansion and revision of the 1991 edition and contains 22 chapters. (Information from the website of the International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry website (www.iupac.org/)
Properties of Organic Compounds
Properties of Organic Compounds is a database that contains over 29,000 of the most commonly sought organic compounds, featuring physical data, spectral data, and structures.

Compendium of Chemical Technology
The definitive guide to chemical terminology (from IUPAC) contains over 7000 terms dealing with all aspects of chemical technology,
Dictionary of Chemistry (Oxford)
Available in hard copy- Chemistry Library Reference- QD5 .D4985 2008
Dictionary of Organic Compounds
Core dictionary for the chemical sciences. Available in hard copy.
Dictionary of Weights, Measures and Units (Oxford)
McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms, 5th ed. (hard copy)
5th ed. in Dimond Reference Q123 .M34 1994
4th ed. in Chemistry Library Reference- (OV) Q123 .M34 1989 (4th ed.)
Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Available in Dimond Library Level 2-- QP512 .O94 2006

Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology (ECT)
The print edition is available in: Engineering/Math/Computer Science Library in the Reference section. (5th ed) TP9 .K54 2004. Also: Chemistry Library Reference (3rd ed.) TP9 .E685 1978
Chemistry: Foundations and Applications
Provides a broad approach to chemistry, its laws, processes, applications and sub-disciplines, and its many branches. (Hard copy only)

American Men and Women of Science This link opens in a new window
Respected biographical dictionary of the significant players in the physical, biological, and related sciences. Each edition includes biographical entries on living scientists, providing birth date & place, field of specialty, education, professional and career information, awards, research information, addresses where available, and more. Coverage: 22nd-30th edition, 35th-36th edition
Link goes to all Ebook versions of this title, via GaleCengage

e-EROS Encyclopedia of Reagents for Organic Synthesis
The Definitive Reference Source for Reagents Used in Organic Synthesis.
Hard copy of this title is in the Chemistry Library Reference-- QD77 .E53 1995