Research Guides: Education (UNH Durham): Articles

List of Education Databases at UNH

Education Databases
About 15 discipline-focused databases for finding journal articles, reports, and other resources.

Suggested Databases to Start With

The key database to get results from recognized, reputable academic sources in the field of education is

ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center : EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
The premier database for education, providing access to more than 1.3 million records and links to more than 323,000 full-text ERIC documents dating back to 1966.

The above link to ERIC goes to a subscription database. For those not connected to UNH as a current student or member of the faculty or staff, the US government provides a freely available version of ERIC:

ERIC Education Literature (U.S. Dept. of Education) !
Provides comprehensive access to education-related literature, including citations to articles and research reports. This free version of ERIC is provided by the U.S. Dept. of Education.

Other databases that are often useful in research in education include

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports in the field of psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. It is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health.
PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) Index This link opens in a new window
Covers all subjects that bear on public affairs and public policy, including the policy-oriented literature of academic social sciences such as economics, finance, law, education, the military, political science, public administration, international law and relations. Indexes publications from and about all countries, PAIS Archive coverage: 1915-1976; PAIS International coverage: 1972-current

Additional Databases to Consider

Depending on your specific topic, one or more of these specialized databases may be helpful. For more online resources, check out the complete Database List.

Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Dates of coverage: 1952-current
Family Studies Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles on marriage, divorce, family therapy, and other areas from the most important journals in the discipline.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Combination of academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos from almost every discipline.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Facilitates research-level interdisciplinary search. Use the Basic Search to locate articles in high-impact scholarly journals in science, social science, arts, and humanities. Use the unique Cited Reference search for articles that cite an article you already know of, so you can track citations forward in time.

The UNH Library search box provides one-stop searching for books and e-books; articles in newspapers, journals, and magazines; and video and audio

This can be useful if you want

multidisciplinary coverage specifically
initial exploration
additional resources by being comprehensive for articles outside of your primary discipline

You can limit results to peer reviewed journals and by publication date, An advanced search with additional options is available:

Keyword searching across citations, abstracts and full text of articles (even if the full text isn't available to you).

Advantages:

identify relevant articles, especially if your search is pretty specific.
useful for exploratory purposes or when you're "covering all the bases"

Disadvantages:

hard to organize or sort in useful ways
unable to search by subject or limit by anything other than time

Enhance efficiency by adjusting these Google Scholar settings so that

Library Links shows library access links to UNH (so you have quicker access to full text that UNH is subscribing to)

Connect to

Google Scholar