Research Guides: Justice Studies (UNH Durham): Articles

Suggested Databases to Start With

These databases serve as excellent starting points to get results from recognized, reputable academic sources:

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Collection of peer-reviewed, full-text journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos touching on all disciplines.
Criminal Justice Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals from all areas of criminology and criminal justice and from around the world. Dates of coverage: 1968-current
NCJRS: National Criminal Justice Reference Service This link opens in a new window
Contains summaries of 170,000 publications including Federal, state, and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, and unpublished research. Subject areas include corrections, courts, drugs and crime, law enforcement, juvenile justice, crime statistics, domestic preparedness, and victims of crime.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Dates of coverage: 1952-current

Additional Databases to Consider

Depending on your specific topic, one or more of these specialized databases may be helpful. For more online resources, check out the complete Database List.

ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center : EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
The premier database for education, providing access to more than 1.3 million records and links to more than 323,000 full-text ERIC documents dating back to 1966.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
A current resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press. Includes unique community publications as well as top scholarly journals on ethnicities and ethnic studies.
Family Studies Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles on marriage, divorce, family therapy, and other areas from the most important journals in the discipline.
LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
Contains all of the content available in LGBT Life with Full Text as well as full text for the most important and historically significant LGBTQ+ journals, magazines regional newspapers, as well as monographs and books. It includes comprehensive indexing and abstract coverage as well as a specialized LGBTQ+ thesaurus containing thousands of terms.
MEDLINE on EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from thousands of current biomedical journals.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports in the field of psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. It is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health.
Reader's Guide Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Readers' Guide Retrospective is a database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America. Dates of coverage: 1890-1982
Social Work Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Contains indexing and abstracts from more than 850 social work and human services journals on topics such as homelessness, AIDS, child and family welfare, aging, substance abuse, legislation, community organization, and more. Note: UNH's license limits access to a maximum of 4 concurrent users; for course or database instructional use please call 1-800-758-5995 and unlimited access will be granted for a limited time, as for a course. Dates of coverage: 1965-current
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Is a sociology research database providing full-text, peer-reviewed sociology journals. Itcovers many studies including gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, racial studies, religion, and social work. Dates of coverage: 1908-current
Violence & Abuse Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes books and journals covering essential areas related to violence and abuse, including family violence, sexual assault, emotional abuse, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. Dates of coverage: 1995-current
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Facilitates research-level interdisciplinary search. Use the Basic Search to locate articles in high-impact scholarly journals in science, social science, arts, and humanities. Use the unique Cited Reference search for articles that cite an article you already know of, so you can track citations forward in time.

Legal Databases

Google Scholar (see last box below) provides access to an extensive collection of federal and state cases through an easy-to-use interface and navigation.

Access to other legal resources in addition to federal and state cases is available through the following subscription databases:

Westlaw Campus Research This link opens in a new window
An online legal resource for law-related areas such as criminal justice, social work, business and education. This research tool features legal encyclopedias, court decisions, law reviews and journals, statutes, and more.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Formerly Lexis Nexis Academic, Nexis Uni is a database of news, business, legal and government information. Legal resources include state and federal statutes, regulations, case law, law reviews, and selected secondary sources. News resources include international and national newspapers, magazines, trade journals, and broadcast media transcripts.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Image-based legal research collection: law and law-related periodicals, coverage of U.S. Reports back to 1754, world trials dating back to the early 1700′s, legal classics from the 16th to the 20th centuries, treaties, and more.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar

Google Scholar offers an extensive database of state and federal cases, accessible through a straightforward search interface with simple navigation.

The articles search function is useful for general secondary research. Keyword search across citations, abstracts and full text of articles (even if the full text isn't immediately available).

Enhance efficiency by making sure your Google Scholar settings are set so "Library Links" shows library access links to UNH. This gives you quicker access to full text that UNH is subscribing to.

Justice Studies (UNH Durham)

For More Help

Social Sciences, Public Policy & Government Information Librarian

Librarian

Suggested Databases to Start With

Additional Databases to Consider

Legal Databases

Google Scholar