Research Guides: Justice Studies (UNH Durham): Citing & Writing

Citation Styles

Citation styles often vary by discipline. Since Justice Studies is multidisciplinary, the citation style you are asked to use may vary by course. Using a citation management software such as Zotero or ZoteroBib can help you switch more easily between styles; more information is below. This page also includes resources for two widely used styles: APA (American Psychological Association) and Chicago.

APA Style Resources

APA Style
The APA's own website for style and grammar guidelines from the seventh edition.
The OWL at Purdue APA Formatting and Style Guide
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 7th edition (2020)
AKA "The APA Style Manual." Print locations.

Chicago Style

Chicago Manual of Style Online This link opens in a new window
Includes fully-searchable text with added features such as tools for editors, a quick citation guide, and searchable access to the Chicago Style Q&A, wherein University of Chicago Press manuscript editors answer readers' editorial style questions. Coverage is for 16th-17th editions

Zotero

Which version do you need?

Do you want ZoteroBib? It's a quick, easy way to create the occasional bibliography, without creating an account. FAQs
Or the full version of Zotero that can help you archive and curate sources over a period of time?

Download and install:

Go to Zotero.org and click Download now.
Download Zotero 6 for your operating systems AND the Zotero Connector for the browser you use.

Library Tutorials: Zotero Series
Very brief tutorials on Zotero basics
Zotero (UNH Durham)
This guide has more details on getting and using Zotero.
Zotero Video Tutorials
List of videos produced after the release of Zotero 5.0 in July 2017

Literature Reviews

Useful sites that describe how to conduct a literature review.

Literature Reviews
Resource from UNH Connors Writing Center
The Literature Review: A Few Tips On Conducting It
From the University of Toronto, this also briefly discusses annotated bibliographies.
Write a Literature Review
From the University of California, Santa Cruz