Research Guides: Justice Studies (UNH Durham): Statistics & Data

Statistical Databases

Statistics result from analyzing or interpreting raw data. Often, statistics show the relationship among variables to inform responses to "how" or "why" questions. Tables, graphs, or charts are typical formats for the presentation of statistics.

Statista: The Statistics Portal This link opens in a new window
Tool for researching quantitative data, statistics and related information.
Statistical Abstract of the US This link opens in a new window
Is a comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the US. Dates of coverage: 2013-current
Statistical Insight This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive access to statistical information from federal agencies, research organizations, international organizations, commercial publishers and associations. Provides abstracts of statistical publications and links to the full-text for selected publications.

Selected Statistical Resources

Statistics are available from many sources such as government agencies, think tanks, organizations, researchers, etc.; for example:

UCR (Uniform Crime Reporting) Publications
The UCR Program consists of four data collections: The National Incident-Based Reporting System (NIBRS), the Summary Reporting System (SRS), the Law. Includes link to the FBI's interactive Crime Data Explorer tool. Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted (LEOKA) Program, and the Hate Crime Statistics Program.
Includes link to the FBI's interactive Crime Data Explorer tool.
US Bureau of Justice Statistics
Collects, analyzes, publishes, and disseminates information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government. (Unrestricted Access)
State and Territory Fact Sheets
From the Office of Justice Programs. Information regarding BJA investments and program highlights, as well as statistics and information related to crime trends, criminal justice agencies, and more.
Statistics Available from the US Dept of Justice
New Hampshire Community Profiles
Information on the 234 incorporated cities and towns in NH. Data presented here comes from a variety of sources, including community response, published reports, and maps.
Census Quick Facts
Provides statistics for all states and counties, and for cities and towns with a population of 5,000 or more.
Census Data
Extensive population, housing, economic, and geographic data from the US Census Bureau. (Unrestricted Access)

Data

Data is the raw information from which statistics are generated. Data are the yet-to-be-analyzed results of research conducted as part of a survey or study.

Selected sources of data that may be re-used:

National Archive of Criminal Justice Data
Provides datasets that can help guide the exploration and extension of research ideas for topics connecting technology and criminology

ICPSR This link opens in a new window
This data archive acquires, processes, and provides access to social science data for research and instruction. ICPSR data cover many disciplines, including political science, sociology, history, economics, gerontology, demography, criminal justice, public health, education, law, and international relations.

Note: Users must register for an account. Current UNH students, faculty, and staff only are eligible for direct downloading of all datasets. Set up ICPSR MyData login account by clicking on the link in the upper left corner of the page.

Data.gov
Data.gov provides metadata (descriptions) for Federal datasets, information about how to access the datasets, and tools that leverage government datasets. Federal and Executive Branch data are included in the first version of Data.gov.
OpenDOAR - Directory of Open Access Repositories
OpenDOAR is an authoritative directory of academic open access repositories. Each OpenDOAR repository has been visited by project staff to check the information that is recorded here.

For easy mapping of data:

PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
This Geographic Information System tool is for those who need to visualize large amounts of data quickly and easily, even down to the census tract or block group level. Included is an extensive data collection, with indicators organized into general categories including demographics, income and spending, housing, lending activity, quality of life, economy, education, health, federal guidelines, and other analytics.