Research Guides: Law & Legal Research: Legal Reference

Legal Research Help

Law on the Web
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 9781317904700
Publication Date: 2014
The emphasis throughout is on the location of high quality law Internet resources for learning, teaching and research.
Legal Research In a Nutshell, 15th ed.
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2024
A comprehensive but succinct guide that covers major Internet resources as well as online databases and library materials, with almost a hundred illustrations of print and online sources.

Black's Law Dictionary
Call Number: Dimond Reference Desk ; KF156 .B53 2014
ISBN: 9780314621306
Publication Date: 2014
Well-known legal dictionary

Bluebook (Cambridge, Mass.)
In print at Dimond Reference Desk KF245 .B58
A guide to a system of legal citation frequently used by law schools and law journals.
The Bluebook: Quick Style Guide
Examples of commonly used sources in the style intended for law review footnotes.

Legal Research: A Guide to Secondary Resources (Law Library of Congress)
Secondary resources in the field of law offer analysis, commentary, or a restatement of primary law and are used to help locate and explain primary sources of law. This guide provides an overview of these materials aimed at the beginning legal researcher.

Westlaw Campus Research This link opens in a new window
Under "All Content" select "Secondary Sources" to view legal encyclopedias, texts, and treatises as well as law reviews and journals.

Research Guides (Law LIbrary of Congress)
Research guides provide a starting point for researching legal topics and recommend relevant materials in the Law Library's collections and online. Guides range from topics such as environmental law to legal research.
Wex: a free legal dictionary and encyclopedia
Sponsored and hosted by the Legal Information Institute at the Cornell Law School. Wex entries are collaboratively created and edited by legal experts.