CPS Online Library Research Guide (UNH Manchester Library): Other Types of Research

Introduction

Not all research involves using your academic library. In some cases government, medical, and general websites are more appropriate for finding information. While some of these sites will test your ability to Evaluate Information, they can aso lead to exactly the information you need. Following, are some of the most frequently sought information, how to search for teh information you need.

Information Scan

Purpose of an Information Scan

An information scan is undertaken when you are seeking a broad overview on a topic. You want to know what the information landscape is like on a particular subject. In general, do not start with your academic library. This is not the same as beginning a research assignment. You might do an information scan to discover the varying opinions on a topic , who is interested in a particular topic, or what agencies are publishing information on a topic.

What is the Value of an Information Scan?

In general the primary value is to give you a broad overview of a topic. You might learn something about the vocabulary others are using in discussing a topic, or prevailing opinions, BUT it is not research. This is a very important point to keep in mind when thinking about how you might approach a  research assignment.

Wikipedia

This is actually not a bad place to start, if you have no idea about the vocabulary, background, or he conversation/issues surrounding the topic.

One Approach to the Information Scan

Depending on how you approach an information scan, the following guidelines will prove effective:

• Consider your topic: What information do you need? When doing an initial scan, think boradly about your topic
• Identify terms that might be relevant to your  topic. Again, don't be too precise,
• Do a web search on your topic- note the first page of search returns: Are they opinions, a certain type of site (such as a giervnment site), how current is the information? Try to make as many generalizations as possible about the information you find.

Professional Credentials

Students sometimes need to research the credentials needed in certain professions. Follow are some ideas for where to find this information:

• NH Department of Education: The NH Department of Education Division of Program Support, Bureau of Credentialing administers the rules that have been established to evaluate the credentials of candidates for an educator license. Recommended by the NH Professional Standards Board and approved by the State Board of Education, these rules govern educator certification and all professionals employed in NH public schools must possess the appropriate certification for their assignment. The Bureau is responsible for the certification and recertification of all educators from Superintendents through teacher aides. The Bureau is responsible for the investigation of educators involved in acts of misconduct.
• Professional Credentials: The best source of credentialling information is through the relevant professional organization. Examples include: National Association of Social Workers, Project Management Institute, or the Healthcare Quality Certification Board of the National Association for Healthcare Quality

Research a Company

PLEASE NOTE: GSC has access to a number of business-related databases merged into the GSC Discovery Service. However, there may be times when using UNH's resources will be more effective. With a separate business school their resoruces are more extensive. Please contact the GSC Library for advice on using UNH's reosurces.

Know the Company Name, Variations, and 'Family' History

Consider these variations when searching for information about the company. Consider the company's 'Family Tree.' Is it a parent company? A division of another company? Foreign or family owned?
 

When researching a company, it is important to know whether it is public, private or a subsidiary of a larger company.

• Public companies sell shares of the company (stocks) to the general public, and are required to submit financial information and annual reports to the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission.  Public companies are therefore easier to research as a general rule of thumb.
• Private companies do not sell publicly traded stocks and as a result, are not required to release as much information to the government or the general public  They are therefore more challenging to research.
• Subsidiaries of public companies can be difficult to research because the parent company is not required to report on each of them individually.  Therefore, when researching a subsidiary, you often have to read carefully through reports about the parent and look for references to the subsidiary.

Industrial Classification (SIC and NAICS codes)

Look at the Company's Website - Information You may Find

• Leadership - names of the company leaders may then also be searched for information about the company
• Goals and Strategic Plans
• Financials (occasionally)

Using the GSC Discovery Service

• Search the Discovery Service, using a Basic Search. Do not turn on Peer Review
• Search under the various company names
• Make sure to look at NEWS and other Source Types, besides articles.

Other Sources of Information About Companies

• BizStats

  This site provides "free statistics and financial ratios" for broad industry categories. This data is offered for Corporations, S-Corps, and Sole Proprietorships. You can also use it to "customize an industry Profit & Loss statement" based on sales. A subscription is needed to access the full content of this database.
• Business Expenses

  This database from the Census provides "periodic national estimates on operating expenses for merchant wholesale, retail trade, and selected service industries."
• Valuation Resources.com

  "ValuationResources.Com is a free resource guide to business valuation resources, industry and company information, economic data, and more. Designed as a comprehensive resource guide for business appraisers, the site's audience includes a broad mix of business owners, professionals, students, and other parties interested in business valuation and industry information." Many of the links provided, however, are to fee-based sources.

Market Research

Getting Started

• Consumer market research is the process of gathering data on a consumer goods market (personal-use goods and services such as toothpaste or retail sales). This includes information on the current and potential customers, as well as the competitive landscape of the market.
• Primary research involves collecting data from the source (i.e. consumers) such as conducting surveys or focus groups. It can be very targeted, useful, time consuming, labor-intensive, and expensive.
• Secondary research involves using data that has already been collected (e.g. statistics or market research reports). Because you do not control how or what data is collected, there may be times where you cannot find the exact type of information you want from secondary sources.

You can kind of think of it as primary research is watching a movie whereas secondary research is reading a review of the movie.

Key Databases (all free)