CPS Online Library Research Guide (UNH Manchester Library): Academic Libraries in NH

NOTE: Due to COVID-19 safety protocols, GSC students may be denied entry to other college or university campuses, including library buildings. Be sure to contact any campus you would like to visit to determine what restrictions are in place. 

Tips for Using Other Libraries: Know Before You Go!

Different Types of Libraries Serve Different Purposes

There are different types of libraries, each serving a specific purpose. As a GSC student you need to understand this in order to quickly find information that best meets your needs. Below is a very brief description of the types of libraries you will find in New Hampshire and what kinds of resources they are most likely to have.

• Public Libraries: Did you know that New Hampshire had one of the first public libraries in the country? Public libraries are a treasure but are probably not the appropriate place for you find current research materials. You will find fiction, reference materials, local histories, and ALWAYS internet access. Most recently NH public libraries have been offering access to selected EbscoHost databases through a grant form the NH State Library. Check with your town’s public library for what is available and what you need to access these resources. You can also initiate an interlibrary loan request through your local public library.
• Academic Libraries: These are the libraries associated with colleges and universities and where you will find resources appropriate for college-level research papers. See the page on NHCUC libraries. As a NHCUC member GSC students have borrowing privileges for most of the NHCUC libraries.
• Special Libraries: These include historical societies, art schools, and other special purpose institutions. Depending on your research these libraries can have a wealth of research materials. You may or may not be able to use all the materials or have access to their research services.

Finding Books in Other NHCUC Libraries

• Search another library’s catalog: The list of  NHCUC libraries provides a direct link to their catalog. In terms of priority searching UNH and Plymouth’s collections are large, so start their. If you are physically closer to another academic library on the list, start your searching with that library.
• Search Tip: Author and Title are fastest if you know exactly the book you want. A subject or keyword search will yield all the books in the collection on a particular topic. Each catalog search may work a bit differently, so read the directions.
• If the Library Has the Book You Want: Look at the circulation information – usually part of the catalog record – to determine if the book is available. If the book is available, you can drive to the library and check the book out [except for Dartmouth College]. Make sure you bring your GSC ID card.

Using Electronic Databases at Other NHCUC Academic Libraries

What You Need to Know

There are some databases, such as those GSC leases via the GSC Discovery Service that GSC students can use online as long as they have their username and password. We consider these ‘Our databases’ because we have an agreement with Ebsco and pay to provide the information to our students.

Other libraries in the NHNUC also purchase databases for their students’ use. When they sign their agreements with the vendor they say the service will be used by their students. In order for a GSC student to use these databases they must physically go to the library and conduct a search on one of the library’s networked computers.

While generally this is not a problem for other NHCUC libraries, some guidance is required. Below are a few tips for using electronic resources at other NHCUC libraries:

• Generally, you are searching for articles that have been published in a journal or periodical. Not all issues of a periodical may be in electronic format. The catalog record will tell you if earlier issues of a periodical are available in paper format. Although you will not be able to borrow the periodical you may be able to photocopy a needed article.
• You will still need to search the catalog to determine what databases may be most useful to you. Note when a database provides just an abstract or full-text of an article.
• Once you find the article you need you may be able to print it. NOTE: increasingly, libraries are charging for this service. Do not be surprised if you are asked to pay for your printout.

Alternative to Driving to Another Library for Access to a Database or an Electronic Article

•  If you know the publisher of the journal from which the an article has been published you can increasingly get an article in electronic form directly from the publisher. This service is never free. You may expect to pay between $25-$60 per article, but it arrives on your desktop in a matter of minutes. Before you pay for a journal article - Contact the GSC Library. We may be able to find the article at no cost to you.
• Because of use restrictions, library staff are not able to print out and mail articles to GSC students. Please do not ask them to do this.

Seeking Help at Other College & University Libraries

Librarians want to help connect you with the information you need. At the same time, librarians at other institutions have an obligation to help their students first. Here are some tips for insuring that your visit to another library is profitable and that librarians at other institutions help you in the best and most efficient way possible.

How Best to Prepare

• Have identified your research topic, keywords, and perhaps some journal titles you want to look before you arrive.
• Search the institution’s catalog – you can do this online. This will give you an idea of how their catalog works, resources available, and what is available in electronic vs. paper format.
• If there is a floor plan or parking map available online, look it over- this can save you endless time and parking fines!

What You Should Have with You

• Your GSC ID
• Change for photocopying
• Paper, pens, laptop etc., any tools you use for research

What You Can Expect

• Staff will be very willing to answer directional questions
• There will be documentation on how to use or search available databases
• Networked computers that allow you access to electronic databases
• Librarians available to help you research a topic. NOTE: This is the tricky one. Please do not expect individualized tutorials, in-depth help with your research topic, or other services reserved for students at that institution. The GSC Librarian is very willing to help you with these tasks before you go.

Please contact the GSC Librarian for help navigating the process of identifying and gaining access to electronic articles.