The purpose of this policy is to provide guidelines for the collection of monographs created or edited by UNH staff, faculty, and administration and in ways that align with UNH Library’s e-preferred format and the collections policy of the University Archives. It also addresses specific use cases in which a publication cannot be electronically accessed.
This policy applies to all employees listed below who had monographic titles published:
All tenured faculty members with scholarly or creative writing monographs that were created during their time at the University of New Hampshire, Durham Campus.
All senior lecturers with published scholarly or creative writing monographs that were created during their time at the University of New Hampshire, Durham Campus.
All administration and staff members who have served in their roles for a minimum of 5 years with published scholarly or creative writing monographs that were created during their time at University of New Hampshire, Durham Campus.
UNH Library and Milne Special Collections and Archives welcomes all eligible staff, faculty, and administrators of the UNH Durham campus to submit documentation for their published monographs to be part of UNH Library’s collections and available to the public in wide circulation. The responsibility of any given monograph to be added to collections lies with the author or editor of said text.
Authors can submit their titles for consideration on the University Publications webform which is located at:
https://library.unh.edu/services/university-publications
Consistent with the Collection Development Policy set forth in circulating collections, the acquisition of university publications operates on an e-preferred format. This means that if the title exists in digital format, it will be added to our circulating digital collections to maximize accessibility and usage.
UNH Library does not allow backfill of this collection for monographs that were published more than five years ago. There is no price cap per author, but items that exceed UNH Library’s acquisition budget will be added via UNH Library’s Demand Driven Acquisition list.
Authors and editors are welcome to display records of their new monographs in a curated collection of University Publications on our Library Services Platform.
In addition to an e-preferred version, physical editions of books can be displayed in select cases in the UNH Library, but only if the book is gifted to the University Archives. The University Archivist has the right of refusal on these donations if the physical edition of the book does not align with current collecting priorities for Special Collections and Archives.
The following monographs submitted by eligible University employees can be added to the Library’s circulating collections:
Scholarly monographs written or co-written by a university employee
Monographs with chapters written or co-written by a university employee
Scholarly monographs edited or co-edited by a university employee
Non-scholarly creative work authored by university employees
Translations edited or co-edited by a university employee
The following types of texts will not be eligible for this collection:
Encyclopedias
Textbooks
Manuals
Self-published works
In the absence of a monograph having an e-preferred format, the University Archives may accept acquisitions that do not have electronic access on a case-by-case basis. The University Archivist considers physical acquisitions in the context of current collecting priorities for Special Collections and Archives.
The above policies are distinct from those of the UNH Scholars Repository, which accepts a wider range of direct submissions of digital scholarly works from UNH students, faculty, and staff.
The University Archivist and Collections Strategy Librarian reserve the right to review and revise this policy in ways that better serve the patrons and collections of UNH Library. Questions about this policy can be sent to ask@unh.libanswers.com.
==
Drafted 09-24, KU
Reviewed by APA Program Members, 10-24
Reviewed by AAD Program Members, 02-25
Reviewed by Library Faculty, 03-25
Approved by the Dean of the Library, 04-25
