During appointments, patrons can take reference photographs of materials with personal cameras, phones, or other devices. Flash photography is not permitted.
Patrons cannot use personal scanners, digitization equipment, or filming equipment unless they have explicit permission from an archives staff member.
In-person and remote patrons can request physical or digital copies of materials. Archives staff will assess the fragility of the item, privacy restrictions, donation agreements, copyright law, and volume of labor before granting the request.
While SCA prioritizes the accessibility of its materials, bulk scanning requests that exceed 20 pages will be subjected to an escalating scale of charges to fulfill the request. Users can pay by credit card online.
For the scale of charges for page ranges, please consult our reproduction fees webpage. Patrons can request no more than 400 scanned pages every six months.
Milne Special Collections and Archives reserves the right to:
Limit reproductions based on current staffing levels to provide equitable service to all patrons
Waive its fees and scan caps to provide equitable service to all patrons
Reserve the right to complete larger orders in longer windows of time.
Special Collections and Archives works with external vendors to fufill requests for digitized audiovisual materials.
Adequate time, resources, and the volume and type of request for audio/visual reformatting determine the capacity of SCA to fulfill this request.
If such a request can be fulfilled, the patron may be asked to assume the cost of digitization, while SCA would assume the price of additional preservation measures for a digitized copy of its material.
Patrons wishing to use reproductions for publication or exhibition should speak with archives staff, pay any reproduction fees, and fill out the Request to Publish form on our Reproductions and Fees webpage.
Some collections require additional licensing through UNH Innovation.
