Research Guides: UNH Special Collections and University Archives: Citing Archival Material

Citing Archival Material

UNH Special Collections and University Archives Preferred Citation

All of our finding aids include a preferred citation that follows this format:

[Identification of item], [Folder], [Box], [Collection Title], [Collection Number], Milne Special Collections and Archives, University of New Hampshire Library, Durham, NH, USA.

APA Style Citation Resources

APA Website Archival Documents and Collections

Basic Format

Author last name, First Initial. (year month day). Title [Description of material]. Name of collection (Collection number or identifier, Box number, Folder number). Name of repository, Location of repository. Retrieved from URL if applicable.

In-Text Citation Basic Format

(Author's Last Name(s) or Organization, Year)

Chicago Style Citation Resources

There are two different systems for citing sources in Chicago Style: Notes and Bibliography and Author-Date.

Notes and Bibliography

Notes - General Format

Title or description of item, date (day, month, year), Collection number or identifier, box number, folder number, Collection Name, Name of Repository, Location of Repository. URL if applicable.

Bibliography

Last Name, First Name of author. Name of Collection. Name of Repository, Location of Repository.

In a bibliography, the citation usually begins with the name of the collection or the last name of the author. Only cite individual items when you have referenced only a single item from a collection.

Author-Date

In-text Citation

Basic Format: (Collection Title Date)

Dates of individual items should be mentioned in the text, when applicable. In such cases, it is not necessary to add the date along with the collection title in parentheses.

Bibliography

Basic Format: Collection Name. Repository Name, Repository Location. URL.

MLA Style Citation Resources

In-Text Citations

Known Author

Include the author’s last name in parentheses after the quote or paraphrase.

Unknown Author

Include the title or description of the work being cited in quotation marks in parentheses after the quote or paraphrase.

Works Cited

Basic Format

Author Last Name, First Name Middle Name or Initial. Title or description of material. Day month year. Collection Name. Collection identifier, Box number, Folder number. Name of repository, Location of repository. URL if applicable.