UNH Special Collections and University Archives

What Are Archives? 

The word ARCHIVES refers both to the physical places where records are kept and the collections of records themselves. 

As materials

• Archives are documentary materials produced as a result of the activities of people, organizations, institutions, or other groups that are preserved because of their enduring informational, evidential, historical, and research value.  

As a place, department, or institution

• Archives are the departments, agencys, or institutions responsible for acquiring and preserving archival materials and making them available for use. 

How Are Archives Different From Libraries?

Archives differ from libraries in:

• The types of materials they hold
• How materials are organized
• How materials are accessed

Archives hold unpublished and published materials that are rare, unique, specialized, or original. This means archival materials are often difficult or impossible to replace, so they cannot be lent out or borrowed.  

Instead, archival materials have to be accessed in a READING ROOM, where users can examine materials while being supervised by archives staff. This is to prevent potential damage so that archival materials can be preserved for future generations.

Go to the section of the guide on "How Are Archives Organized?" to read about how and why archives are organized differently than libraries. 

Go to the section of the guide on Visiting Special Collections and Archives for information on making an appointment to visit the UNH Special Collections and Archives.