UNH Special Collections and University Archives

Reading Room Policies

General: 

• Special Collections and Archives material is non-circulating and can only be viewed in the Reading Room on the first floor of Dimond Library. Patrons should make an appointment with archive staff to view any Special Collections and University Archives material.  
• The Reading Room may be used to host archives-specific instruction sessions, in consultation with the Public Services Coordinator, University Archivist, and Special Collections Librarian. 
• Patrons are required to fill out an online registration form prior to or during their appointment. If they are unable to fill out the online form, archives staff will provide them with a physical form. 
• Patrons must inform archive staff ahead of time if they will have any children accompanying them during their appointment.  

Appointments: 

• Requests for and appointments to use materials stored off site and/or requiring complex reference work to access need to be made five business days in advance of the patron visit. 

Patron Consideration: 

• Patrons should maintain a quiet atmosphere to sustain a conducive and productive environment for fellow patrons and archives staff.  
• Please respect the privacy, research materials, and time of fellow patrons during your visit. 

Personal Property:  

• All bags, purses, laptop cases, and other personal items must be placed in one of the lockers or on one of the tables by the reading room entrance.   
• All coats or jackets must be placed on the coat rack or in one of the lockers.  
• No food, drink, or pens are permitted in the reading room.  
• Patrons are welcome to bring notebooks, pencils, laptops, cameras, and phones with them.  

Technology:  

• Cellphones must be silenced. If a patron needs to make or answer a phone call, they should exit the reading room to avoid disturbing other researchers.  
• The use of personal scanners is not allowed to prevent potential damage to archival materials. Patrons can speak with archives staff about ordering digital or physical copies of documents or photographs. Non-flash photography of materials is also permitted.  
• Patrons must check with archive staff before making any video or audio recording during their appointment.  

Materials Handling: 

• Materials must be handled with care, especially those which are fragile or damaged. Patrons should not mark, bend, tear, or fold any materials. Archives staff can assist with any particularly delicate or difficult-to-handle materials. Patrons who deliberately harm materials will be denied access to them.  
• Materials must be handled with clean, dry hands.  
• Gloves must be worn when handling negatives or when removing photographs from paper enclosures or protective plastic sleeves.  
• Archive staff will provide patrons with book pillows or book cradles if necessary.  
• Patrons must sit facing the front desk when looking at materials.  
• Boxes and other items should not be placed on the floor, in chairs, or in laps. Boxes should not be placed in such a way that they block patrons or the materials they are handling from the view of reading room staff.  Boxes should not be placed on top of archival materials. 
• Folders should be kept flat on the table.  
• All items should remain in the original order in which they have been filed. Folders should be returned to their original place in boxes and items should remain in their folders in their original order.   
• If materials seem like they might be out of order, we ask that patrons inform archive staff rather than reordering the materials themselves.
• Patrons should not write on paper placed on top of archival material. 

Emergency/Evacuation: 

• In case of emergency, patrons should leave their materials and belongings in the Reading Room and head to the North Stairwell and exit through the fire door on the second floor. Archives staff can assist in leading patrons through the evacuation process.