UNH Special Collections and University Archives

Special Collections and University Archives has made a number of digital collections available through the Scholars Repository.

This guide only highlights a select number of our digital collections. Please go to the Scholars Repository website to explore all of our digital collections. 

University Archives

• UNH Publications and Documents
  • The Granite – Yearbook 
  • The New Hampshire – Student Newspaper 
  • Undergraduate Catalog
  • Graduate Catalog
  • UNH Magazine 
  • UNH Today
  • Other UNH Publications and Documents
• Bremer W. Pond Collection
  • Bremer W. Pond (1884–1959) was the primary landscape architect for UNH from 1924 to 1944, after which he continued to act as a consultant for future campus development plans.
  • This digital collection features Pond's planning process and associated records, which includes detailed correspondence and reviews of plans with the President's Office, oversized blueprint drawings, and photographic surveys of campus properties and the surrounding town of Durham during various phases of development. 
• Clement Moran Photo Collection
  • The Clement Moran Photo Collection consists of over 1,000 images digitized from the University of New Hampshire Library's Special Collections and Archives. 
  • Clement Moran joined the faculty at New Hampshire College (now University of New Hampshire) in 1914 to teach physics, but soon also became the university's photographer, documenting the Durham campus over the following decades.
• Irma G. Bowen Historic Clothing Collection
  • Professor Irma G. Bowen began collecting clothing and other items in 1920 as a hands-on teaching tool for students in the Home Economics department at UNH. This digital catalog continues the Bowen Collection's mission to teach while expanding its reach by making it more widely accessible to those interested in the design, technique, artistry, and historical relevance of clothing.
• Works Project Administration (WPA) murals
  • Photographs and documents regarding the The Works Project Administration (WPA) murals installed in the former Hamilton Smith Library of the University of New Hampshire.

Special Collections

• Angling Collection
  • A collection of books pertaining to the history and practice of fly fishing.
• Judge Ivorey Cobb Collection 
  • Judge Ivorey Cobb was New Hamsphire's first African American Jurist. This collection contains family correspondence, newspaper clippings, photographs, school and judicial certificates, and vital and military records. 
• Music and Dance Collections
  • The Music and Dance Collections include ephemera and photographs from the Country Dance and Song Society, as well as digitized collections of square dancing magazines such as Northern Junket, American Squares, and Sets in Order. 
• New Hampshire City and Town Annual Reports 
• New Hampshire County Annual Reports
• New Hampshire History 
  • The New Hampshire History digital collections include materials related to geneaology, local history, and the Civil War.