If you would like more assistance looking for background information or other reference material, please contact your subject librarian, or visit Ask A Librarian for options to email or schedule an appointment.
This state-by-state collection of folk songs describes the history, society, culture, and events characteristic of all fifty states. It focuses on songs concerning the life and times of the people of each state. The topics range from the major historical events, such as the Boston Tea Party, the attack on Fort Sumter, and the California Gold Rush, to regionally important events such as disasters and murders, labor problems, occupational songs, ethnic conflicts. Published 2008
Provides coverage across the humanities with a concentration on political and cultural history. Each volume includes authoritative narrative accounts by specialists and extensive bibliographies. The subject categories containing the most volumes are regional history, general history (with its chronological series) and literary studies, but there are also several series on the history of religion, philosophy and economic history. UNH's access is to all volumes added through 2012
Includes the complete encyclopedia, as well as Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary, the Britannica Book of the Year, and an Internet directory that includes more than 130,000 links to Web sites selected, rated, and reviewed by Britannica editors.
Coverage of all aspects of human rights theory, practice, law, and history in entries created by leading scholars and human rights experts: major figures, organizations and institutions, human rights events and crises, and human rights norms.
Looks at women today and delves into contexts of being female in the 21st century. The scope of the encyclopedia focuses on women's status starting approximately in the year 2000 and looks forward. From A-to-Z, this work covers the spectrum of defining women in the contemporary world. Published 2011
The Encyclopedia covers the entire history of seafaring, from ancient Egyptian shipbuilders to the nuclear submarines and supertankers of today. Over nine hundred articles written by leading historians examine all aspects of maritime history, including naval history, shipbuilding, biographies of major figures, navigation and scientific instrumentation, maritime art and literature, commerce and economics, and international law. Placing maritime affairs in their larger historical context, the Encyclopedia shows how seafaring has both reflected and influenced the major economic, cultural, military, and political developments in world history.
Contains the complete text of the 20-volume Second Edition, first published in 1989, together with its 3-volume Additions Series, published in 1993 (volumes 1 and 2) and 1997 (volume 3), and recent online updates.
Offers access and cross-search of multiple music reference resources. With Grove Music Online as its cornerstone, Oxford Music Online also contains The Oxford Companion to Music, which offers more than 8,000 articles on composers, performers, conductors, instruments and notation, forms and genres, and individual works; and The Oxford Dictionary of Music, which supplements Grove's more-extensive articles. Dates of coverage: Classical antiquity-current
Each Handbook offers thorough introductions to topics and a critical survey of the current state of scholarship in a particular field of study, creating an original conception of the field and setting the agenda for new research. The articles review the key issues and major debates, and provide an original argument for how those debates might evolve. Note: UNH's access is for the Oxford Handbooks Online History, Literature Collections 2014.
A dynamic reference work covering all areas in the field of philosophy; evolving and adapting in response to new research. Each entry is maintained and kept up to date by an expert or group of experts in the field.