Research Guides: Electronic Reference Shelf: COLA Social Sciences Reference

Social Sciences Reference

If you would like more assistance looking for background information or other reference material, please contact your subject librarian, or visit Ask A Librarian for options to email or schedule an appointment.

APA Handbook of Research Methods In Psychology
Features descriptions of the many techniques that psychologists and others have developed to help them pursue a shared understanding of why humans think, feel, and behave the way they do. UNH's access is to volumes 1-3

Constitutional Amendments: Encyclopedia of the People, Procedures, Politics, Primary Documents Relating to the 27 Amendments (2017)
This text illustrates how the US Constitution has changed since its ratification in 1789.

Encyclopedia of Interpersonal Violence
Covers all aspects of the problem of interpersonal violence
Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender History in America
This resource provides a comprehensive survey of lesbian and gay history and culture in the United States.
Encyclopedia of Multicultural Psychology
Presents a thorough overview of the psychology of racial, ethnic, and minority issues in the United States, including contributions from social, developmental, methodological, clinical, industrial/organizational, and health, educational, school, and family psychology.
Encyclopedia of Social Measurement
Captures the data, techniques, theories, designs, applications, histories, and implications of assigning numerical values to social phenomena. Responding to growing demands for transdisciplinary descriptions of quantitative and qualitative techniques, measurement, sampling, and statistical methods, it will increase the proficiency of everyone who gathers and analyzes data. Covering all core social science disciplines, the articles of the Encyclopedia of Social Measurement not only present a comprehensive summary of observational frameworks and mathematical models, but also offer tools, background information, qualitative methods, and guidelines for structuring the research process. Published 2005

Encyclopedia of the U.S. Census from the Constitution to the American Community Survey
Resource to the history, politics, content, procedures, and uses of the decennial census of the American population.

Europa World of Learning
A comprehensive international directory and guide to universities, museums and art galleries, libraries and archives, research institutes, and learned societies as well as their staff and officials. Includes higher education framework profiles for every country and essays covering the field of higher education around the world.
International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences
Describes the state of the art in all the fields encompassed within the social and behavioral sciences. Comprised of articles and bibliographic references, as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes. 1st edition, 2001
International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences
Encyclopedia covering the disciplines of sociology, political science, economics, anthropology, psychology and other fields. 2nd edition
Psychologists And Their Theories For Students
Coverage of major psychological theories and the people who developed them. Provides an overview of the various schools of psychological thought, from behaviorism to Gestalt theory.
SAGE Research Methods
Supports research at all levels by providing material to guide users through every step of the research process. Its library has books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by academics from across the social sciences. The site is designed to guide users to the content they need to learn a little or a lot about their method.
Very Short Introductions: Social Sciences
Provides concise introductions to the social sciences covering a range of subject areas: anthropology, criminology and criminal justice, human geography, politics, sociology, and more.