Research Guides: Electronic Reference Shelf: Most Used e-Reference

Most Used Reference Sources

The following are the most used reference sources at UNH Library, here available in electronic form.

If you would like more assistance looking for background information or other reference material, please contact your subject librarian, or visit Ask A Librarian for options to email or schedule an appointment.

DSM-5-TR This link opens in a new window
First published revision (2022) to DSM-5 (published 2013) and includes updates from three separate revision processes. A classification of mental disorders with associated criteria designed to facilitate more reliable diagnoses of these disorders.
DSM-5 This link opens in a new window
A classification of mental disorders with associated criteria designed to facilitate more reliable diagnoses of these disorders.
Britannica Online Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Includes the complete encyclopedia, as well as Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary, the Britannica Book of the Year, and an Internet directory that includes more than 130,000 links to Web sites selected, rated, and reviewed by Britannica editors.
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Contains the complete text of the 20-volume Second Edition, first published in 1989, together with its 3-volume Additions Series, published in 1993 (volumes 1 and 2) and 1997 (volume 3), and recent online updates.

e-Reference Collections

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Online reference library that provides access to a selection of reference books including encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, and books of quotations, not to mention a range of subject-specific titles covering everything from art to accountancy and literature to law.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Contains original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news, providing in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Reports are published 44 times a year by CQ Press. Note: There is a limit of 10 concurrent users. Dates of coverage: 1991-current
Elsevier Major Reference Works This link opens in a new window
Almost 30 authoritative sources in the physical, life, and social sciences.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Offers coverage of virtually every academic, scholarly, and professional discipline and provides access to databases and ebooks for all kinds of research.
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Covers current social issues, from capital punishment to immigration to marijuana. It supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Informed, differing views help learners develop critical-thinking skills and draw their own conclusions.

Statistics & Data

Statista: The Statistics Portal This link opens in a new window
Tool for researching quantitative data, statistics and related information.
Statistical Abstract of the US This link opens in a new window
Is a comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the US. Dates of coverage: 2013-current
Statistical Insight This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive access to statistical information from federal agencies, research organizations, international organizations, commercial publishers and associations. Provides abstracts of statistical publications and links to the full-text for selected publications.