Responsible Conduct of Research & Scholarly Activity

Notes in the Category C: Reflections on Laboratory Animal Care and Use addresses how to improve laboratory animal care and use, also characterizing the current state of the industry and speculating on its long-term future. It offers analysis from a professional who has spent a lot of time in the trenches, also highlighting new approaches to produce further advances in the field. As the proper care and use of lab animals is critically important to scientists and those who depend on data generated from those animals, this comprehensive book is an ideal resource on the topic. Physicians, patients and their families, consumers, federal and non-profit research funding entities, health advocacy organizations, the FDA, EPA, regulatory approval agencies, and companies that invest billions in R&D to create new diagnostics, drugs, vaccines and medical devices will find this an informative addition for their work.

Ever since its establishment by USDA regulation in the mid-1980s, the Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee (IACUC) has evolved as the premier instrument of animal welfare oversight within research institutions in the United States. As biomedical research continuously grows, the role and impact of the IACUC has increased in scope and complexity. The IACUC Handbookhas become "the Bible" for individuals when the time comes for them to serve on their institution's IACUC. It provides a foundation for understanding and implementing the many and varied responsibilities of this committee. This Third Editioncomprehensively addresses the significant changes in the pertinent regulatory environment and interpretation of applicable federal laws, regulations, and policies. It provides multiple references and commentary on the new edition of theGuide for the Care and Use of Laboratory Animals, the newAVMA Guidelines for the Euthanasia of Animals: 2013 Edition, and theOffice of Laboratory Animal Welfare's Frequently Asked Questions. The Third Editionalso features an updated survey of IACUC practices from institutions around the United States, offering wisdom gained from their experience. In addition, it includes a chapter that provides an international perspective on how animal welfare reviews can function in other countries.

A respected resource for decades, the "Guide for the Care and Use of Laboratory Animals" has been updated by a committee of experts, taking into consideration input from the scientific and laboratory animal communities and the public at large. The "Guide" incorporates new scientific information on common laboratory animals, including aquatic species, and includes extensive references. It is organized around major components of animal use: Key concepts of animal care and use. The "Guide" sets the framework for the humane care and use of laboratory animals. Animal care and use program. The "Guide" discusses the concept of a broad Program of Animal Care and Use, including roles and responsibilities of the Institutional Official, Attending Veterinarian and the Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee. Animal environment, husbandry, and management. A chapter on this topic is now divided into sections on terrestrial and aquatic animals and provides recommendations for housing and environment, husbandry, behavioral and population management, and more. Veterinary care. The "Guide" discusses veterinary care and the responsibilities of the Attending Veterinarian. It includes recommendations on animal procurement and transportation, preventive medicine (including animal biosecurity), and clinical care and management. The "Guide" addresses distress and pain recognition and relief, and issues surrounding euthanasia. Physical plant. The "Guide" identifies design issues, providing construction guidelines for functional areas; considerations such as drainage, vibration and noise control, and environmental monitoring; and specialized facilities for animal housing and research needs. The "Guide for the Care and Use of Laboratory Animals" provides a framework for the judgments required in the management of animal facilities. This updated and expanded resource of proven value will be important to scientists and researchers, veterinarians, animal care personnel, facilities managers, institutional administrators, policy makers involved in research issues, and animal welfare advocates.