Introduction
The UNH Library collects, organizes, preserves, and provides access to scholarly information in support of the teaching, research, and public missions of the university. Librarians collect in appropriate and available formats by adopting strategies that provide for the current and anticipated needs of users. UNH librarians assess the Library's collections for quality, research value, accessibility, and condition, and foster peer relationships within the library profession to better inform UNH's library collection services.
This UNH Collections Philosophy and Policy guides the work of the collection manager and subject librarians across the UNH Library and provides a framework for managing the collection as a whole and as distinct disciplinary collections. The guidelines contain basic principles to apply to all the UNH Library's collections while allowing more specific criteria to be modified as needed for diverse disciplinary needs. Collection support statements for specific disciplines or departments describe priorities and operational approaches appropriate to those disciplines, but all collection development work is clearly aligned with the strategic goals and priorities of UNH and the UNH Library. This document applies to the collections on the UNH Durham campus. The libraries at UNH Manchester and UNH Law each have their own philosophies and policies.
Guiding Principles
1.) In developing its collection, the Library affirms the "Library Bill of Rights" created by the American Library Association's Office for Intellectual Freedom, including the following policies:
A. Books and other library resources should be provided for the interest, information, and enlightenment of all the people in the community the library supports. Materials should not be excluded because of the origin, background, or views of those contributing to their creation.
B. Libraries should provide materials and information presenting all points of view on current and historical issues. Materials should not be proscribed or removed because of partisan or doctrinal disapproval.
C. Libraries should challenge censorship in the fulfillment of their responsibilities to provide information and enlightenment. (See also: Diverse Collections: An Interpretation of the Library Bill of Rights)
2.) It is important to recognize the complexity of collection management for different types of academic disciplines, materials, and collections. We cannot generate a single set of rules to govern all disciplines.
3.) Individual discipline collection and special collection maintenance plans are expected to support overall library goals involving teaching and research support, space management, budgetary requirements, and workflow considerations.
4.) The goal of developing collection maintenance criteria is to facilitate identifying materials for review. Items will be transferred or deselected with subject librarian involvement and academic department faculty consultation.
5.) Subject librarians and special collections librarians will consult each other to identify items for transfer to Special Collections. The Special Collections librarian and/or Archivist must approve in advance all items sent to Special Collections (based on principles of the Special Collections and Archives Policies).
6.) The UNH Library participates in shared regional, national, and international physical and digital repositories. Participating in these repositories allows member libraries to deaccession lower use, marginal, or legacy collection materials because other institutions have formally committed to retaining them and providing access as requested.
7.) The UNH Library maintains a "just in time" approach to materials delivery. This approach is favored over maintaining a traditional physical collection whereby books and journals are acquired "just in case" someone would like to use them. A "just in time" strategy relies on purchasing materials at point of need and helps us keep pace with the diverse research needs of UNH's academic programs within the confines of space and budgetary realities.
8.) Physical collections in the open stacks of central campus libraries are for the portion of the collection in highest demand for research or teaching. A. The Dimond Library houses collections that primarily support: College of Liberal Arts, College of Life Sciences and Agriculture, Paul College of Business and Economics, College of Health and Human Services, Carsey School of Public Policy, School of Marine Science and Ocean Engineering, Thompson School of Applied Science, Earth Sciences Dept. within the College of Engineering and Physical Sciences, and related research centers. B. The Engineering, Math and Computer Science Library, Physics Library, and Chemistry Library house collections that primarily support the College of Engineering and Physical Sciences and related research centers.
C. The Library Storage Building houses physical collections that retain local academic value but are not currently in high demand. The collection manager consults with subject librarians to determine appropriate locations for print collections. Special Collections and Archives materials are also stored here.
9.) The UNH Library supports Open Access (OA) principles and works to support and contribute to international initiatives and lead local OA education and implementation programs.
Collection Formats and Duplicate Copies
The UNH Library collects in multiple formats but does not acquire duplicate copies of materials in multiple formats. Because we have an obligation to support distance learners along with students and researchers on the Durham, Manchester and Concord campuses, our preferred format is electronic for both journals and books. Because we face both space and budget challenges, we limit our holdings to a single copy of most titles. Second‐copy exceptions may be made for very highly used materials that are not available online (this includes reserve items).
Databases
Databases are selected by librarians based on available funding and applicability to curricular and research needs. Suggestions for database consideration can be made through department representatives or subject librarians who will then evaluate the database for purchase. All databases are regularly examined for usage and unique value to ensure that they continue to support the university community. Highest priority is given to tools that provide subject and bibliographic access to a full range of information resources in a subject area; the UNH Library can then acquire materials requested by individual library users. Journal subscriptions are also examined and cancelled based on database holdings when appropriate.
Journals
Because we support multiple campuses and distance learners, the preferred format for academic journals is electronic. Electronic journals must be able to integrate with the library’s discovery service and must accept IP authentication. If a department has a suggestion for title to add to the library collection, they may contact their subject librarian, who will then evaluate the title for inclusion. Due to budget constraints, the library may provide alternative, more cost effective access rather than a new subscription. Because of high subscription inflation rates, the library regularly cancels high cost/low use journal subscriptions to be replaced by interlibrary loan (ILL) or document delivery services (through a consultative process with academic department faculty). The library also supports the open access movement and searches for open access alternatives to high cost journal subscriptions when possible. To accommodate user preference and to address space constraints, when the library acquires online access to journal content, print volumes are deaccessioned from the collection. Exceptions to this guideline will be considered on a case-by-case basis through consultation between the collection manager and subject librarian.
Books
Academic Disciplines
Librarians and academic department faculty work together to select and purchase monographic materials for curricular support and research. The library also participates in other programs to provide access to monographic materials, including: demand driven acquisitions (DDA) programs to provide streamlined, affordable access to academic e-books and ILL to provide access to materials already held in other libraries’ collections.
Reference
The Reference resources, such as dictionaries encyclopedias, almanacs, atlases, etc. have been historically used to get quick specific facts or information or an overview of a subject. The nature of reference sources is evolving as researchers turn to established and trusted internet sources for basic reference needs. Electronic is the preferred format for reference resources. Print is generally deaccessioned when online access is acquired.
Reserves
The goal of course reserves is to provide access to high-demand materials to as many users as possible within a narrow timeframe. Online versions of both book and journal materials are preferred for this reason. Professors can donate any book to place on reserve for any length of time to support current curriculum. The library generally does not purchase textbooks to be placed on reserve but will consider purchasing other titles that have possible long term or high impact use on a case-by-case basis.
Gift Books
Due to limited staffing, space constraints, and the transition to electronic information resources, the Library does not accept gifts of books or other physical items except those that meet the policy guidelines for Special Collections and University Archives gifts.
Media
The library actively collects media to support departmental instruction. All media collected must be in a current media format. Top priority for streaming is given to online courses, very large-enrollment courses, and/or university-wide programs. Users are directed to low-cost, ad-based or free streaming platforms or DVDs/CDs are purchased when institutional streaming is not available or financially feasible. Along with title-by-title selection, the library also subscribes to databases that provide streaming media and demand driven programs. The UNH Library does not normally purchase public performance rights for campus groups or departments but can assist in finding media that includes public performance rights.
Data
The UNH Library provides access to data through its Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) membership and purchases datasets for university-wide use to support the curriculum. The UNH Library does not purchase datasets for individual use.
Maps
Policy under development.
Miscellaneous Formats
The UNH Library may collect other formats (including websites) based on perceived student and faculty need. The collection manager and subject librarians consult on these requests to determine appropriateness for the library collections and to update policy as needed.
ASSESSMENT OF COLLECTIONS
Replacements
Replacement decisions are based on several factors: whether the item is damaged or missing, the extent of the damage, usage, and availability of an acceptable replacement. Replacement decisions are made on a rolling basis by subject librarians in consultation with the collection manager.
Collection Maintenance
[See Collection Maintenance Policy]
Departmental Collection Criteria
All disciplines work with their designated subject librarian to recommend purchases based on curricular needs and faculty interest. Librarians may also select titles that will support the academic mission of their subject areas. Individual Dept. Statements under development.
GOVERNMENT INFORMATION
Government information sources address virtually every topic for which the government has an interest. Historical resources provide context for understanding the past; current resources can provide up-to-the-minute information. These resources include statistics, laws and regulations, research studies, expert opinions, and advice that is produced with the highest standards. Many government documents are primary sources for research. [See Gov Info Collection Policy]
SPECIAL COLLECTIONS, UNIVERSITY ARCHIVES AND UNIVERSITY MUSEUM
The Milne Special Collections and University Archives maintain approximately 18,000 linear feet of rare books, manuscripts, University records, photographs, sound recordings, and other materials. [Policy Under Development]
DIGITAL COLLECTIONS
Digital collections contain digital versions of books, letters, photographs, and other items from the collections of the UNH Library. The focus of digital collections is the history of New Hampshire, its people, places, events, governance, and industries, including the history of UNH. Digital Collections also contains historic books on a variety of topics such as science, music, poetry, and fly-fishing. [See Digital Collections Policy]
The Library's Collection Strategy Librarian is responsible for monitoring and updating this policy as needed. Questions about this policy can be sent to ask@unh.libanswers.com.
Written by J. Carroll: 6/21
Reviewed by UNH Library Faculty: 7/21
Reviewed by UNH Faculty Senate Library Committee: 9/21
Approved by the Dean of the UNH Library: 8/21
Minor updates by J. Carroll 3/24
