This policy covers materials digitized by the University Library for inclusion in its online Digital Collections. In this document the term digitization is understood to mean digital reformatting, processing, encoding, metadata development, and other technical steps necessary to prepare digital materials for online distribution through the Digital Collections. The responsibility for managing digitization, which can be performed within the library or by vendors, is assumed by the Digital Services and IT Program of the library in close collaboration with other library programs as needed.
Materials selected for digitization will support the curricular, instructional, research, and programmatic needs of the university and the library, including the documentation and preservation of New Hampshire and university history. Identifying candidates for digitization, along with initial curation and organization of materials, are activities that originate from the library or the greater UNH community. It is the responsibility of the Digital Services and IT Program to evaluate the feasibility of digitization proposals in terms of logistics, technologies, resources, and timeline, and to work in consultation with the Library Faculty as to project selection and prioritization.
Initial considerations for selection for digitization may include satisfying the needs of a known audience; the physical condition of materials; the need for digital reformatting to enable access, including participation in national digitization programs; the need to increase the diversity of perspectives and experiences represented in our collections, including amplifying underrepresented voices; and the rarity of the material. The pace and quantity of digitization is contingent upon resources available to undertake projects.
Content origin - Generally, materials for inclusion in the Digital Collections will originate from:
Physical or digital collections that are under the administrative control of the library.
Materials that can be borrowed from institutions or individuals for the expressed purposed of digitization. (Examples: Missing issues of a serial or personal collection of research value). In these cases, a loan agreement will be used.
Digital materials in appropriate formats acquired from institutions or individuals for the purpose of perpetual online distribution.
Collaborations undertaken with members the UNH community, including grant funded projects.
Collaborations and partnerships undertaken with other cultural heritage institutions.
Formats – Physical formats for digitization may include, but are not limited to, monographs, manuscripts, journals, newspapers, photographic media, objects, analog audio and video materials, and maps. Online formats within the online Digital Collection include images, text, audio, and video. The library will only undertake local digitization of materials when the format of the material is appropriate to library reformatting equipment and the work can be accomplished without undue damage to the original. Digitization vendors may be used as needed to expand the scope or volume of what can be digitized through this program.
Rights - Materials to be digitized must be in the public domain, have intellectual property rights that are owned or managed by UNH, have undetermined copyright status after due diligence in identifying a rights holder, i.e. “orphaned works,” or have written approval from the copyright holder that permits digitization and online distribution.
The Library's Scholarly Communication Librarian is responsible for monitoring and updating this policy as needed. Questions about this policy can be sent to ask@unh.libanswers.com.
Written by Eleta Exline: June 2021
Reviewed by the Library Faculty on June 10, 2021
Approved by the Dean of the UNH Library: September 3, 2021
