Government Information Collection Development Policy
The UNH Library became a US depository in 1907 with a land grant designation and this continues to be its primary collecting responsibility. Our depository serves US Congressional District 1 by providing free and open public access to our collections and services. The Government Information Librarian also works with the library’s Special Collections & Archives, which is primarily responsible for UNH’s participation in the New Hampshire state depository program and the maintenance of the print state government publications.
From 1974 until the official end of the program in 2013, the UNH Library was a selective Canadian depository. Selected tangible Canadian government publications that were retained are LC cataloged; some electronic-only documents are also cataloged. No active collecting of Canadian government publications is currently occurring. The library also very selectively purchases international documents, including those from the United Nations and other international government organizations (IGOs).
Government Information
Public service functions that support library users in identifying, locating, and using government information and Map Room collections are located in the Research & Learning Services division. Federal depository collections are housed in Dimond Library unless otherwise noted:
Circulating print collection - Level 1 (SuDoc classification)
Non-circulating print reference collections - Levels 3 and 1 (SuDoc classification)
Microforms collections - Level 2 in Microforms area (SuDoc & local classification)
DVDs and videocassettes – Level 2 in Multimedia Room (SuDoc classification)
CD-ROMs – Level 3 (SuDoc)
A few selected titles - branch libraries (LC classification)
Selected print materials – Library Storage Building (SuDoc and Dewey classification)
The bulk of the collection, including most CD-ROMs but not maps or microforms, circulates to the UNH community; unaffiliated users may borrow circulating materials with a UNH Library borrower's card or through interlibrary loan.
Circulation periods for most federal government publications are the same as for similarly formatted library materials, with the exception of CD-ROMs, which circulate for one week.
Subjects
Subjects selected support the information needs of the UNH community and Congressional District 1. Since more than 200 degree programs are offered at UNH and the closest depository is 50 miles away, a wide range of subjects are collected. These include agriculture, business, census, climatological data, congressional information, court decisions, demographics, economics, education, the environment, forestry, geographical data, health, education, labor, legislation, legal resources, public policy, statistics, and water resources.
Language
The language of the collection is almost entirely English.
Areas
Government Information focuses primarily on US coverage, with particular emphasis on New England and New Hampshire. To a minor degree, international organization materials may be collected.
Resource Sharing
There is general awareness of the collecting scope of the depositories and research libraries in the state, the UNH Law Library, Boston Library Consortium (BLC) members, and the University of Maine, Orono ,which is our Regional depository library. Documents are both loaned and borrowed through interlibrary loan. Our cataloged holdings are also available in OCLC.
US Depository
Types and Formats of Materials Collected
The Government Information collection includes monographs, periodicals, maps, titles in series, indices, bibliographies, statistical and reference works. Formats collected include electronic, paper, maps, microfiche, CD-ROM, and online subscription series. Additionally, a small number of materials come in poster, kit, and other multi-media formats. Current depository receipts will be limited to electronic formats with print acquired only in very limited circumstances. Additionally, the Government Information Librarian may purchase important databases, finding aids, research and reference tools, and online access to support the depository collection. There is a separate collection development policy for maps and aerial photographs.
The UNH Library has long had an archival commitment as one of the oldest and largest depositories in the state. With the increasing digitalization of historical materials by agencies and other parties, the growth of born-digital materials, the purchase of full-text databases, and the library’s membership in HathiTrust, this commitment can, in many cases, now be met through accessing materials online rather than retaining and using traditional print materials.
Selection Responsibility and Tools
Responsibility for selection of publications resides with the Government Information Librarian with ongoing and close cooperation with the subject librarians and liaisons. Faculty, student, and user recommendations are considered. The collection is supplemented by commercial products to either provide added value to existing materials, enhance access to historical government publications, or replace critical titles that are no longer published by the federal government. Also, the collection has been occasionally supplemented by donations from other libraries/depositories and individuals; donations are rarely accepted now.
Monitoring and review of item selections is based upon current need and historical collecting responsibility and incorporates use of The List of Classes of U.S. Government Publications Available for Selection by Depository Libraries. Reviews and articles from the major journals for government information, Government Information Quarterly and DTTP, Documents to the People, are reviewed for possible purchase ideas. The GOVDOC-L and MAPS-L listservs are monitored also. Occasionally, materials mentioned in a newspaper or journal article are requested.
Chronological Limits
The UNH Library has been a depository since 1907, but the collection contains selected holdings from the mid-19th century onward as well as having access to online resources containing some government publications from 1789 onward.
Existing Collection Strengths
The unit currently selects 83% of the GPO items although this rate has been as high as 92% in the past. Therefore, the collection is generally comprehensive in a number of subject areas such as agriculture, the environment, census, statistical series and includes materials from almost every federal agency available for selection.
Collection Evaluation, Weeding and Maintenance
Usage of government information is monitored through multiple channels including PURL reports, circulation statistics, and reference transaction records. As a comprehensive depository in a research university, withdrawals had previously encompassed superseded materials primarily and other material only very selectively. More recently, due to both space constraints and the availability of digital versions, we have been withdrawing older series and titles and expect to accelerate withdrawals over the next several years. In line with the general UNH collection maintenance policy, academic departments and subject librarians will have an opportunity to review lists of materials identified for withdrawal (excluding materials that would normally be superseded, withdrawn due to expiration dates or considered ephemeral by nature of the content, etc.). Materials are removed from the collection in accordance with the depository requirements including regional guidelines; offers are made through the FDLP eXchange system.
Guidelines for deselection of tangible materials
Superseded, time sensitive, and similar outdated materials
Materials from agencies for which we have scattered and generally incomplete collections
Incomplete sets or serials where a significant portion is not held
Materials out of scope of the collection
Worn or damaged items
Kits
Titles covered by stable online access (unless in one of the retention categories below)
Items related to NH or northern New England (MA, ME, NH, VT) area or regional topics
Selected Census publications
Selected publications related to significant national historical events
Publications that are histories, such as military histories, agency histories, architectural histories, etc., which can be viewed as humanities-oriented publications
Selected cartographic publications or publications containing foldout maps
Extensively illustrated publications
Oversized items
Items with fewer than 25 holders in the US per OCLC WorldCat
Categories of materials or topics requested by subject librarians or teaching faculty to be retained in print including selected materials related to land-, sea, and space-grant status; any materials retained at the discretion of the library faculty
Publications that serve as useful primary materials for instruction or exhibit purposes
Items that are not available at HathiTrust that could be digitized and contributed to HathiTrust, DPLA, or other digital repository or collection
Materials not available through stable online access or the electronic version is poor quality
Core historical finding aids
Materials that the regional depository librarian requests be retained for regional collection purposes
Worn or damaged items in any of these retention categories that would generally be discarded due to physical condition will be replaced with electronic versions when possible or may be submitted as a need on FDLP eXchange)
Access
Online and remote access is provided through the library’s online catalog and integrated search box, the Government Information pages on the library website, and the library’s research guides. With the library’s subscription to Marcive's Documents Without Shelves services for records for electronic depository selections and internal cataloging of tangible receipts, the Library's online catalog serves as the "shelf list" for the collection. There is also a partial shelflist of older federal document serials. Access to documents is also provided via the Catalog of Government Publication, govinfo.gov, and older retrospective indexes.
United Nations
Selected statistical series, statistical annuals, and other annuals are purchased. Selected websites are included on the UNH library website and other resource guides.
IGOs
Materials from the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD), International Monetary Fund (IMF), Organization of American States (OAS), and European Union (EU) are very selectively purchased. Primarily statistical series, statistical annuals, and reviews of the agency's work may be purchased. Selected links to relevant websites are provided on the library website and/or through research guides.
The Library's Collection Strategy Librarian is responsible for monitoring and updating this policy as needed. Questions about this policy can be sent to ask@unh.libanswers.com.
Updated by L. Buckley: 5/21
Reviewed by Library Faculty: 5/21
Approved by the Dean of the UNH Library: 12/24
