Scope
This policy covers the management and patron conduct of the Milne Special Collections and Archives Reading Room and SCA Classroom 103, located on the first floor of Dimond Library.
General
Special Collections and Archives material is non-circulating and can only be viewed in the archive reading room on the first floor of Dimond Library. Prior to your visit, please:
Make an appointment
Fill out the online registration form
Inform us if anyone else will accompany you during your appointment.
The Reading Room may be used to host archives-specific instruction sessions, in consultation with the Public Services Coordinator, University Archivist, and Special Collections Librarian.
Patrons are required to fill out an online registration form prior to or during their appointment. If they are unable to fill out the online form, archives staff will provide them with a physical form.
Patrons must inform archive staff ahead of time if they will have any children or additional visitors accompanying them during their appointment.
Appointments
To ensure that material will be available for you, please allow five days between making your appointment and the scheduled time of your appointment.
Requests for and appointments to use materials stored off site and/or requiring complex reference work to access need to be made five business days in advance of the patron visit. These requests are managed by the Patron Services Coordinator, and as necessary, organized in conjunction with the Special Collections Librarian and University Archivist.
Patron Consideration
In addition to following the UNH Library Community Standards, We ask that patrons maintain a quiet atmosphere to sustain a conducive and productive environment for fellow patrons and archives staff and respect the privacy, research materials, and time of fellow patrons during your visit.
Personal Property
All bags, purses, laptop cases, and other personal items must be placed in one of the lockers or on one of the tables by the reading room entrance. Patrons are welcome to bring notebooks, pencils, laptops, cameras, and phones with them.
All coats or jackets must be placed on the coat rack or in one of the lockers located by the Patron Service Desk.
No food, drink, or pens are permitted in the reading room.
Technology
Cellphones must be silenced. If a patron needs to make or answer a phone call, we ask that they please exit the reading room to avoid disturbing other patrons.
Unless explicitly stated otherwise by the Patron Services Coordinator, the use of personal scanners is not allowed to prevent potential damage to archival materials. Patrons can speak with archives staff about ordering digital or physical copies of documents or photographs.
Patrons may take reference photos of archival material with available light at their table; please do not bring items to windows. Flash photography is not permitted as it can fade material over time.
Patrons must check with archive staff before making any video or audio recording during their appointment.
Materials Handling: Patron Conduct
Materials must be handled with care, especially those which are fragile or damaged. Patrons should not mark, bend, tear, or fold any materials. Archives staff can assist with any particularly delicate or difficult-to-handle materials. Patrons who deliberately harm materials will be denied access to them.
No food or drink is allowed in the Reading Room. Please handle materials with clean, dry hands.
All bags, coats, and purses must be placed in lockers when researching in the Reading Room.
Gloves must be worn when handling negatives or when removing photographs from paper enclosures or protective plastic sleeves.
If a book pillow, or cradle for collection materials is provided to support damaged or fragile materials for an appointment, please keep the object or objects mounted on the provided supports.
Patrons must sit facing the front desk when looking at materials.
Materials Handling: Working with Historic Manuscripts and Records
Boxes and other items should not be placed on the floor, in chairs, or in laps. Boxes should not be placed in such a way that they block patrons or the materials they are handling from the view of reading room staff.
Folders should be kept flat on the table. Please ensure that boxes are not placed on top of archival materials.
All items should remain in the original order in which they have been filed. Folders should be returned to their original place in boxes and items should remain in their folders in their original order.
If materials seem like they might be out of order, patrons should inform archive staff rather than reordering the materials themselves.
Patrons should not write on paper placed on top of archival material.
Emergency/Evacuation
In case of emergency, patrons should leave their materials and belongings in the Reading Room and head to the North Stairwell and exit through the fire door on the second floor. Archives staff can assist in leading patrons through the evacuation process.
Policy Feedback
The Library's University Archivist and Special Collections Librarian are responsible for monitoring and updating this policy as needed. Questions about this policy can be sent to ask@unh.libanswers.com.
Updated by E. Slomba and K. Uchida: 1/24
Reviewed by the UNH Library Faculty: 12/24
Approved by the Dean of the UNH Library: 12/24
