Purpose of Policy: The purpose of this policy is to establish guidelines for the lending of materials from the Milne Special Collections and University Archives (SCA) to ensure the preservation of rare and unique items while facilitating their use for educational, research, and exhibition purposes. This policy was developed in conjunction with a UNH SCA Loan Agreement form, which can be requested by prospective loan institutions.
The ability of SCA to loan materials from its collections is heavily dependent on scale of the planned exhibition and the ability of its small staff to accommodate these requests relative to the overall duties of managing a Special Collections and Archives Program. Scope:
This policy applies to all materials held within the SCA, including rare books, textiles, manuscripts, photographs, ephemera, and archival documents.
For rare books sourced through Interlibrary Loan, please consult our ILL Lending policy.
Eligibility and Profile of Borrowing Institutions:
Lending will be considered for: - Recognized academic, research, and cultural institutions.
- USNH partners - UNH departments and recognized student organizations for approved events.
- Established local historical societies and museums to the six New England States.
- Other external requests may be considered on a case-by-case basis, subject to the approval of SCA faculty. Policy Statement: Conditions Governing Lending
Loan Duration:
The standard loan period can be up to ten (10) weeks, with renewals accepted providing regular review of material conditions. Longer durations of loans can be negotiated during the creation of a loan agreement.
Security and Environment:
Loan institutions should ideally comply with SCA’s policy on security and environmental conditions, including:
-Controlled temperature and functional HVAC
-Pest management plan
-Humidity control
-No direct light exposure
-An alarmed and locked facility for exhibitions
However, the loan institution’s ability to exhibit objects is assessed on a case-by-case basis and balanced with considerations of community access, institutional resources, and the ability of SCA staff to accommodate loan requests.
Display and Handling:
Specific instructions for display and handling must be adhered to, including the use of gloves for textiles and manuscripts, secure display cases for rare books, and restrictions on photocopying or digital reproduction.
Insurance:
Depending on the value of the item(s), the nature of the loan, and the resources available to the loan institution, SCA staff may mandate insurance provided by the loan institution from the time of departure until return. The value will be determined by SCA.
Recalls:
SCA reserves the right to recall its objects at any time and on short notice, if necessary.
Request Process: -Requests must be made at least 10 weeks in advance of the initial loan date, detailing the items desired, purpose, duration, and conditions of display or use. -Requests are subject to approval by the Special Collections Librarian, the University Archivist, and the SCA Stacks Manager. Considerations include the item’s condition, rarity, the potential for damage and the volume of incoming loan requests.
Loan Agreement:
A formal loan agreement detailing the terms and conditions must be signed at a minimum by relevant SCA faculty and the requestor. The following considerations apply:
-If the request is internal to the University of New Hampshire, and/or includes duplicate items or premade exhibition panels, then the request only needs approval by SCA faculty.
-If the loan is permanent in nature to an external organization, or requests materials that possess important historical, financial, or administrative value, it will require additional approval and signature by the Dean of the Library.
Transportation and Packaging:
-The SCA faculty and/or the SCA Stacks Manager, with the qualified assistance of the loan institution at its discretion, will oversee the packing and transportation arrangements. Costs are to be covered by the borrower. - Professional art handling services are required for items deemed extremely fragile or valuable. Mounting and handling of objects should be executed and supervised by trained curators and museum professionals. Prohibited Uses: - Loaned materials may not be used for commercial purposes, altered, or subjected to any treatment (e.g., conservation or restoration) without explicit written permission from the UNH Special Collections Librarian or the University Archivist.
Returns and Condition Reporting:
- Borrowers must notify SCA staff upon conclusion of the loan and arrange for return shipping as specified in the loan agreement.
- Any anticipated changes in the dates of return must be communicated immediately with SCA faculty.
- Any changes or damage must be reported immediately to SCA faculty or the SCA Stacks Manager. - A condition report and inventory will be conducted upon return that will be reviewed against the pre-loan assessment of objects, which include photographs and an itemized list of objects and records.
Fees and Charges:
- A handling fee may apply, in addition to any direct costs related to the loan (e.g., transportation and/or insurance).
- If certain objects require particular care in their mounting or installation, the borrower is to assume all costs associated with the display. - The borrower is responsible for all costs arising from damage or loss during the loan and transportation period. Exceptions and Amendments:
- The Special Collections Librarian and/or the University Archivist reserve the right to make exceptions to this policy or amend it at any time to better serve the SCA collections preservation, access, and educational goals.
- This policy will be reviewed and amended as needed on a cycle of three years or earlier as needed.
The Library's University Archivist and Special Collections Librarian are responsible for monitoring and updating this policy as needed. Questions about this policy can be sent to ask@unh.libanswers.com.
Created by Kai Uchida: 03/24 (adapted from the Society of American Archivists Collection Development and Maintenance Steering Committee)
Reviewed by the APA Program: 4/24
Reviewed by Library Faculty: 4/24
Approved by the Dean of the Library: 4/24
