UNH Library Policies

The Milne Special Collections and University Archives encompasses two collection portfolios: Special Collections and the University Archives. The unit acquires, preserves, and makes available research collections of both published and original source materials, particularly those related to the State of New Hampshire and the University of New Hampshire.

Policy Statement:

• The UNH Library and Milne Special Collections and University Archives encourages gifts from the public and will provide instructions and resources for donating appropriate materials of permanent research value and/or funds to support collections.
• Potential donors should contact those authorized to accept gifts with offers of unsolicited gifts, clearly identifying the item(s) to be donated. Collection policies, physical condition, duplication of current holdings, and questions of ownership will govern the acceptance of such gifts.

• Special Collections and University Archives reserves the right to deaccession unsolicited gifts with no donor information as it sees fit in accordance with its current policies and procedures.

• The library requires a signed transfer of ownership to take custody of gifts. It will not accept or take custody of any library materials on deposit.
• The processing, description, storage, and future use of gifts shall be administered in accordance with the regulations and procedures of Special Collections and University Archives.
• Specifics on making gifts of tangible property are outlined below.

Criteria: What will and will not be accepted

• In most cases, the decision to accept gifts will be based on current Special Collections and University Archives collection development policies and material condition.
• Special Collections and University Archives staff will not acquire or accept the gift of objects or materials that are generally out-of-scope of current collection development policies, even when they are offered in connection with gifts or bequests having belonged to or been associated with individuals or institutions.
• Special Collections and University Archives staff may decide to not accept material for which the Library lacks the necessary resources or facilities to house, preserve, or process/catalog them properly or in a timely fashion. Likewise, they will not accept gifts that come with stipulations for separate or specialized housing and/or with burdensome restrictions on use or access.
• Any acceptance of materials of a non-library character, excepting gifts related to the University's history, must be accompanied by a written justification relating the compelling circumstances involved and offering plans for custody in the Library. The recommendation of Special Collections and University Archives staff to receive such gifts must be approved in writing by the Dean of the UNH Library.
• Special Collections and University Archives staff may accept unsolicited gifts in some circumstances, but with no conditions attached. If not added, these materials may be offered to Collection Development for inclusion in the circulating collection, transferred to another repository, returned to the donor, sold or otherwise disposed of.

Gift Agreement

• Donors, which may be individuals or organizations, are encouraged to discuss their potential gifts of books, personal papers, records, and nonprint/digital materials, with authorized Special Collections and University Archives personnel.
• These discussions should define both the wishes of the donor and the ability of Special Collections and University Archives to carry out its mission and responsibilities in respect to the gift.
• The gift agreement is a formal and legal agreement between the donor and the Library that transfers ownership of and legal rights to the donated materials. The signed deed of gift establishes and governs the legal relationship between donor and the repository and the legal status of the materials. In some cases, proof of ownership may be required.
• The gift agreement may contain the following:
• The full legal name of the donor and the recipient. [required]
• The title and description of the materials being donated. A description of the gift or a detailed list for a collection of materials should be appended to the gift agreement. [required]
• The transfer of legal ownership and legal custody of the materials, usually at the time the agreement is signed by both parties [required]
• Statement on access -- The central mission of the SCA is to make their collections open and available for research use. However, a donor may decide to restrict access to all or a portion of the materials for a limited and clearly stated period of time.
• Transfer of intellectual property rights – In order to facilitate use by researchers, donors are encouraged to transfer all rights they possess in the donated materials. However, the donor may wish to retain all or a portion of the intellectual property rights. This must be clearly stated as part of the gift agreement and include a mutually agreed upon date when full rights will be transferred to the Library.
• In the course of cataloging or processing a gift, Special Collections and University Archiveses staff separate out those materials that are duplicative or outside its collecting scope. At the donor's request, the gift agreement may include options for disposing of these materials. These include shredding out-of-scope materials, transferring them to another library or repository, or returning them to the donor.

Gift Policy Authorities

• The Special Collections Librarian and the University Archivist have the authority to accept most gifts related to their respective collection portfolios and sign corresponding donor agreements for gifts to Milne Special Collections and University Archives.
• Exceptions:
• The authority to accept and sign donor agreements for gifts: with an estimated or appraised value exceeding $20,000; that may affect workflows in other units; or that represent a departure from current collection policies resides with the Library Dean.
• The transfer of UNH records and other materials defined within the University Archives collections policy may be approved by the University Archivist or designated staff.
• SCA staff may accept and sign a gift agreement for unsolicited gifts with an estimated value of less than $500 and that otherwise fall within current collection policies.
• The Special Collections Librarian, University Archivist, and/or UNH Library cannot make monetary appraisals/valuations for tax purposes because the U.S. Internal Revenue Service considers the recipient of a gift to be an interested party.
• It is the responsibility of the donor to assign value and ensure proper documentation of value of the donated item(s).
• For tax purposes, U.S. law states that all gifts over $5,000 must be appraised by a “qualified appraiser” in order to claim a tax deduction.
• For gifts with an assigned value, Special Collections and University Archives personnel should complete a “Gifts of Tangible Personal Property and Gifts-in-Kind Transmittal Form.” Completed forms should be forwarded to University Advancement so that the gift and its value are recorded.
• Tax forms accompanying gifts valued at more than $5000 will be signed by the appraiser and a designated authority within University Advancement.
• Formal gift transferals must comply with all current processes, polices, rules and regulations of UNH Advancement.

Acknowledging Gifts

• All gifts will be acknowledged by a gift letter on letterhead by the University Archivist, Special Collections Librarian, or designated staff, as appropriate.
• In addition, gifts accompanied by a “Gifts of Tangible Personal Property and Gifts-in-Kind Transmittal Form” will be acknowledged in writing by a designated authority in University Advancement.
• In addition, gifts valued at more than $5000 will be acknowledged in writing by the Library Dean.

Donor Resources

• Your Old Books - American College and Research Libraries, Rare Books and Manuscripts Section Pamphlet
• Donating Personal/Family Papers - Society of American Archivists
• Donating Organizational Records - Society of American Archivists
• A Guide to Deeds of Gift - Society of American Archivists
• Copyright & Unpublished Material - Society of American Archivists

The Library's Special Collections Librarian and University Archivist are responsible for monitoring and updating this policy as needed. Questions about this policy can be sent to ask@unh.libanswers.com.

Drafted by E. Slomba, 11/23

Reviewed by SCA Staff, 12/23

Reviewed by UNH Library Faculty, 12/23

Approved by Dean of the UNH Library, 12/23